We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Volcanic Air

Volcanic Air
Book In Advance
More Info
$175.55*
and up
Mt. Tarawera Volcano Scenic Floatplane Tour from Rotorua
More Info
$295.08*
and up
Mt Tarawera Helicopter Tour with Volcano Landing
More Info
$668.60*
and up
White Island Helicopter Flight and Volcano Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer you an extensive range of scenic helicopter flights and scenic floatplane air tours.Land on the active Volcano of White Island or our dormant Volcano Mt Tarawera.View from above the dramatic and spectacular destination of Rotorua. The main theme of our scenic flight tours is to showcase the many crater lakes, volcanic and geothermal landscape of the region Rotorua and Bay of Plenty.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Took our 3 year old on the Cessna 206 floatplane on the 30min flight (tour 3A). He loved it, massive smile and then discovered how the intercom worked ! Anyway great tour, informative pilot who's been doing the tours for a while.
Not cheap, but these things aren't and it was worth the money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank camo1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanicair, Manager at Volcanic Air, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to visit Volcanic Air Safaris and to post on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you can tick this flight off your "To do list"

Regards
Ann Gregor
Sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    9
    1
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3 x Lassies”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We took Tour 3B. Our dutch friend wanted to ride in a helicopter, see an aerial view of Rotorua & see the geysers. We had limited time, so this incorporated everything. Our pilot Kerry was absolutely brilliant, great humour & patience & very knowledgable.
A great time had by us all!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vsmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schleswig, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience for the whole family!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

we strolled over to the building early saturday and were welcomed very nicely and explained all the alternatives. with two boys (8 and 9) we booked the "Hells Gate" helicopter trip. The ground staff and pilot took great care of us - and (luckily it was a very clear day) we got to see all of the major north island volcanos lined up along the fault line! Although pricey, given the $$ of running the place - well worth it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank blobby202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Try this, it's great”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

From the moment we walked into the building (and patted Mercedes the dog), we were made to feel most welcome. The flight over the Crater Lakes was amazing, with a bit more time would love to have flown to White Island

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeton
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“MUST DO!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Absolutely breathtaking amazing experience out to White Island - you absolutely must do this. Steph our pilot was just so knowledgeable and The World was moored next to White Island when we went. Booking was effortless and the staff fantastic. YOU MUST DO THIS - it really was one of the best trips I have ever ever done - thanks so much Volcanic Air Safaris :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank BooandGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volcanic Air also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Volcanic Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing