We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The resort was beautiful and relaxing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The resort was beautiful and relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

We really enjoyed our weekend at the Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort. The rooms were beautifully decorated with a very comfortable bed, spa bath and fully stocked kitchenette and bar fridge. The meals in the elegant restaraunt were top quality as was the friendly but restrained service. The lakeside setting was gorgeous, especially the early morning fog over Lake Rotorua. We will be going back very soon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinnyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    93
    43
    22
    8
See reviews for
37
284
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
102 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

A pleasant surprise. Clean rooms , great attention to detail , friendly staff and a quite place to unwind after a day on the road . In a town with more motels than one could ever need , Wai Ora seems to have ajump start on every other place in a quiet location alongside the lake .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tank09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Tena koe Sunisa

Please congratulate your staff. The food was delicious, nothing was too much trouble for Raj and each person that we encountered was obliging and pleasant.

Thank you - should we need to have another meeting, we shall enquire of Wai Ora in the first instance.

Nga mihi
Makoha Gardiner

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

What a find! As you are driving to it you are saying to yourself "where is this place and this can't be it". It is literally hidden after a residential area and then you drive up and here is this beautiful spot right on the Lake. It clearly has been remodeled recently . Very modern and "green". I swear there were only 2 other rooms occupied while we were there which was too bad! One night we reserved for dinner in the restaurant and FINALLY another couple came because otherwise it was just us. This hotel was clean, the rooms gorgeous and comfortable, lots of light, and a beautiful view. The rooms are a bit oddly shaped but that was ok , We sat and enjoyed the pool all by ourselves one day and basked in the sun. The pool was FRIGID cold though, they must do something about that. We never got to enjoy the saunas and hot tubs but wish we could've. Best of all the service. They great you like a family friend they were expecting, make sure you enjoy a complimentary cocktail and will answer any questions or make any arrangements you need. I can't say enough. Yes it was expensive, but as it turns out so was everywhere we stayed in both Sydney and New Zealand . This was worth it in my opinion. And it wasn't just clean, it was pristine!! The only downfall with these "green" type rooms is nothing turns on unless your key card is in the slot, so you do arrive to a very warm room since air conditioning only works when your key is in the slot.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akgambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

My wife & I have just celebrated our 2nd wedding anniversary at this fantastic resort...and it will be one to be remembered thanks to Wai Ora. Facilities are top notch and we have never encountered the level of service that we got from the staff here anywhere that we have stayed before. Food is very high quality. Spa was great. I would recommend Wai Ora to anyone...and will be myself for sure. Looking forward to next time already!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xr6falcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

I was fooled by Trip advisor... sorry this place is just an over priced motel.
Every good motel in Rotorua has geo-thermal baths, these are plain water, and not very clean. Good motels in Rotorua charge $200-250 per night- this place charges $450 per night. The room wasn't cleaned properly, with a half finished bottle of wine in the fridge, dirty cutlery, and the previous occupants things left behind. The rooms are small, nicely painted, but terrible value.
The pool is small, and not thermal. The layout is poorly thought out- was a motel and they converted to a "hotel". Restaurant is poor value and the service average.

No I wouldn't go again there are plently of better places in Rotorua please patronize them

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bryangh, Owner at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2010
Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. Unfortunately on the day that you were checked in the receptionist checked you into a room which had not been fully cleaned and serviced for which I as owner apologise as this is not the standard that we aspire to in terms of ensuring that our rooms are serviced properly before our guests are checked in. To ensure that this does not happen again we have put in place a further checking procedure so hopefully your experience is not repeated. Again I offer my sincere apologises.
The room which was booked was our 1 Bed room Superior Suite which included an a la carte breakfast for two .It has been professionally decorated and finished to a high standard with quality facilities for our guests to use.
As a qualmark rated 4.5 star hotel the resort has many amenities and facilities that are not available at a motel including the award winning Mokoia Restaurant and Wai Ora Spa.
In terms of value I appreciate you opinion and will ensure that the first impression that you received will not be repeated for future guests. A letter of apology and gift will be sent to Singapore to hopefully in some small way compensate for your experience
Bryan Hughes
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie, Australia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I was a bit unsure of what I had booked as we drove up to this hotel, but as soon as we arrived and were welcomed, all those doubts disappeared! The location is kind of odd. It’s almost in a suburban area (and not an overly fancy one at that) but the resort itself is located on the water’s edge and quite self-contained as soon as you go through the gates. It’s about 10 minutes from central Rotorua so you do need car to get around.

The staff were terrific and very welcoming. The reception desk is not really set up like at a major hotel with a concierge so be prepared to do some of your own research about activities in Rotorua. They can book you anything you like though and were happy to do it.

Our room was great – really nice décor, clean and well serviced every day. All the rooms are located in a U shape and overlook the pool. The pool is mid-sized and it was cold! The lake is around 50 metres from the hotel and we saw people swimming but did not venture in ourselves. There could be more shaded areas around the pool as it’s pretty hot with high UV in the Kiwi sun.

Internet access once you connect your own PC in the room was free and fast. There is also a PC near the reception where you can access the internet.

The highlight was the food! We normally try to eat in different restaurants when we are on holidays but we could not bring ourselves to eat elsewhere! The dinner menu is terrific and the food was absolutely superb. The chef has recently won awards for the lamb and beef, and both were great. The pork dish on the menu is also delicious. Our tariff included breakfast and this was a la carte with some nice choices. Our daughter celebrated her birthday while we were there and the chef kindly made her a divine chocolate birthday cake.

We used the spa twice and it was great. Perhaps a bit on the expensive side (e.g. NZD150 for an hour long massage) but a very nice experience.

This is a great hotel that is relatively small and so this enables great service and an excellent experience all round. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.6 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
0.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Property: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Address: 77 Robinson Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing