We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #29 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Having travelled a great deal deal in the past few years both myself and my partner were amazed at the superb quality of this resort. From the moment we arrived Don and the team were remarkable - attentive, friendly, interested and genuinely keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms were a creation in themselves...flat screen TV, air conditioning, a wonderfully comfortable bed and all facilities including internet access included...such an unusual but pleasurable change from the norm. With spa facilities that were superb, kayaking equipment, a pool and restaurant to die for we were totally pampered and had a fabulous time indeed. Just to pick up on the food aspect in a little more detail...forget Hester Bloomenthal and the posturing, demonstrative pseudo-creationism...try the whole menu here...going to Heaven would be less pleasurable believe me - the rack of lamb is something to trade your grandmother in for without a second thought....go there...its cool, comfortable, a gorgeous location and has staff that care - a real bonus...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planiscapus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    90
    42
    22
    8
See reviews for
37
279
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

Great location! The service was the best i have ever experienced. Fantastic food (breakfast lunch and dinner) The spa therapies were heaven - Recommend the Maori traditional Miri Miri massage. Great value for money - went on the Wotif.com website got a great deal. The Superior Suites were pure luxuary!!!!!!!!!!!!! will definently be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duri_like_jury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

We just got back from a week in Rotorua, seeing the sites and just relaxing. Beautiful Resort with very friendly staff. Its right on the lake so u walk out the door of ur room and go 10-20 meters over grass to the lake and go for a swim (very warm and only waist high). Beautifully set out rooms and the food is very yummy. We were on a reduced rate of 199 per night which was awesome value. It's close to the airport but not so u would notice. The hotel is only 6 mths old so very new with a free spa pool and sauna. Theres a bus into town from down the road and the beautiful redwood forest for a walk. Its good for relaxing and close enough to town for all activities.
Had an awesome time there!!!!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and the lake so close, and free internet
  • Disliked — A bit out of town.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmaturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

We have spent the long weekend (Waitiangi day, NZ national holiday) at the Wai Ora Lakeside Resort in Rotorua. Being on a business trip my wife and I were looking forward to staying at a relaxing resort in the Rotorua region to spend the weekend.
As we checked in we were greeted by the Manager of the hotel, friendly and grounded like most Kiwis he welcomed us and immediately assisted with our luggage which surely was not his first duty.
We checked in and luckily were assigned a suite facing the lake, a tastefully decorated and furnished living room, kitchenette, a bedroom with a quality bed and an impressive bathroom with spa and separate shower.
The hospitality of everyone was impeccable, the room was very comfortable and included everything to make a stay comfortable includig a bathrobe and very comfortable slippers. The food at the restaurant was outright magic. The best rack of lamb this (that) side of the Tasman. The young chefs consistently have prepared outstanding meals even the head chef was having a break. Breakfast is as well prepared as dinner. Must be the best place to eat in Rotorua someone told me back in Auckland who knows the region well. We ate three nights in a row at the restaurant and we have enjoyed every meal tremendously. The wine list is not terribly extensive but the wines we had were truly good. Try a glass of their Pinot Gris before dinner, its's terriffic.
We have travelled the world extensively and what the Waiora Resort offers is extreme good value for the money. A truly exceptional place in a wonderful location. We definitely will go back. Perhaps fly screens would be a good idea, but we understand that this is not common in NZ….and whoever specified the bathroom tapware and showers has perhaps cut cost of bit too much to keep the budget, unfortunately they do not work well. But this is the only criticism and for a brand new place I am sure these things will be fixed over time.
But congratulations to the owners and management and staff - the Wai Ora resort is a top place to stay by any standard.
Happy if you want to use this feedback in your publications.
Daniel Nikles,
Managing Director
Nikles showers Australia
Kilaben Bay, NSW Australia

  • Liked — attentive service, restaurant, quality of bed
  • Disliked — tapware and bathroom fixings did not work
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.2 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
3.7 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Property: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Address: 77 Robinson Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing