We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Personalised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed just the one night but all the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make you
feel welcome in this very attractive and well located resort.

Whilst the dinning menu was a bit expensive the food was well prepared and worthy of
a top class restaurant.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 467 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Not sure what happened with the negative reviewers in jan2014 as I found this resort very nice. Maybe we had a special treatment as we are a fairly large group (23) and our tour guide has brought business here before. That being said, check-in was quick with big welcoming smiles all around. We were all escorted individually to our rooms. Room 6 a little on the smallish side but with everything you need. Even has a fridge, free wifi which I am using to write this review. Impeccably clean, nice toiletries, etc...we are thrilled with this place. Chairs right outside the room with a side view on the lake. Fairly secluded and nice & quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I hate leaving bad review but this is one hotel for which i must give caution and say 'buyer beware.' I can't say anything good about the hotel or it's staff. We sat in the dining room at dinner waiting to be given menus for 45 minutes. Another 30 minutes until our water glasses were filled. The food was ok, but didn't make up for the awful service. We hoped to use the spa during our stay at the Wai Ora SPA and were told we had appointments by the front desk staff. Later that night we received a call to notify us that they were booked and didn't have appointments. Don't let them fool you when they say they have wifi. They don't. It was, by far, the worst hotel experience I've had in awhile.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
9  Thank CatieGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed only one night with my adult son, and we really appreciated the kindness and service orientation of the staff, serving us an excellent dinner even after kitchen opening hours!
Unfortunately, we didn't have time to enjoy the Spas facilities, but room was clean, welcoming and cosy, with comfortable beds, in a quiet environment.
This hotel is well located, allowing easy access to Redwood, and local scenic roads.
Did not regret my choice!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sylvie Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife and I only stayed for a few nights and I wish we would have stayed here a bit longer. We didn't have time to eat at their restaurant but it looks very nice and has great reviews. They also have a nice bar. Rooms are modern and cozy. I would stay there again. The only draw back is it's distance from city centre. But being away from downtown you don't smell the sulfur from the geothermal springs. The staff is very friendly. Multiple hot tubs, sauna, pool, spa and it's a small hotel. Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This Hotel is nothing more than any Motel but much more expensive. With their Day-Spa and their pricy Restaurant they want to make the Impression of a 5-Star Hotel which it is clearly not. The Hotel-Bar was uninviting, the rooms were old, damaged (window was loose, visible repair-work in the bath) and were tubular and by that they felt very much oppressive. Due to that fact we weren't even abled to watch TV from the bed, because the TV was so far left of it.
Despite the many rooms there were only two (!) sunloungers. But because the entire pool area was so uninviting, not even those were used by anyone.
The pools were not well attended to (full of dead flies, visible grease film on the water although no one except us had been using it for some time).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank MontyZ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here for two nights between the Christmas & NY Period. To be honest I was expecting it to be a lot 'fancier'. But never the less, it was fine. Comfortable room, good shower, and great spa/pool area. Complementary Rotorua Mud soap was great too. Bit further from town that I had expected, but that's nobody's fault!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
767 reviews
2.8 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#23 of 91 in Rotorua
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
921 reviews
2.9 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Address: 77 Robinson Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $122 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 10 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing