We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Suburbia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #28 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Suburbia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hidden Gem in Suburbia

If you dont drive its a bit out of town.
You drive in to a housing estate, down past McDonalds and near the end of the road the hotel appears.
We parked up and went into the reception; we were welcomed by a very nice guy who confirmed our booking. We were shown to our room it’s on a courtyard style looking onto a nice grassy area and a pool. The room we booked was a studio apartment with breakfast included.
The apartment is very nice and well presented the shower room off the main room was very modern and clean. We settled in unpacked and decided to use the Spa facilities.
These disappointed us slightly, the pool in the spa was cold and not hot as we had expected , there was a hot tub but its only for about four and there were three guests already using it. We returned back to our room slightly disappointed.
Later on we went for our evening meal. Now this is well worth a mention, the Chowder was excellent and the Rack of lamb was just a delight. Well worth the money and a great experience.
We were served by a delightful girl Mary who was very pleasant and helpful.
(She also multitasks on the reception)
The next morning we went for our breakfast this was a bit different, as we had paid for our inclusive breakfast we were a bit confused when we were told some things on the menu were extra!!
For us the breakfast was an attempt to be a la carte like the meal the night before, for us it didn’t work but that is a personal opinion. For others it may be ok.
Don’t let this put you off this little gem in suburbia, we would come back again.

Room Tip: The Studio rooms are excelent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerryriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    92
    43
    22
    8
See reviews for
37
283
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

WE have now stayed here twice. The service has been outstanding each time. The rooms have been faultlessly clean and well appointed. The spa facility delightful.
What brought us back, besides the great service and comfortable rooms was the outstanding restaurant! What a delight! The food is just wonderful.....delicious (award winning cuisine year after year: see the trophy case in the reception area!) The food is equaled by the great service the staff provide.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dev0n60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed two nights midweek in a gound level, lakeview King bed studio. The room was smallish but modern, clean and well appointed, (although I found the bed a bit hard - maybe a topper pad would help?) The bathroom was clean with a nice walk-in tiled shower. We loved the big towels and fluffy robes - perfect for padding off to the pool/sauna area. It was too cold for the unheated main pool which overlooks the lake but off the spa area is a sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and 40 degree pool - lovely!

We ate dinner one night at the hotel's Mokoia restaurant which was exquisite - the menu is well designed and our meals were perfect (Blackened lamb, eye fillet and salmon fillet). The breakfasts were also excellent (kiwi big breakfast and waffles) Clever flavour combinations and all well presented.

All the staff we encountered were 10/10 - a very international group but consistently good. I also had a 1 hour massage in the spa - bliss!

The hotel is in a nice location, very quiet and we'd go again. Midweek was very quiet with not many guests(which suited us!), although they said they often get bigger groups through. You can walk along the lake edge for quite a way and it's about 5-10 minutes into town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

About a month ago my wife an I were gifted a Romance Retreat package by our daughter.From the time we arrived until when we left everything from the staff to the totally relaxing face massages we had then the vegetarian dinner and finally breakfast next morning was faultless.It made us proud to be NZers that we can showcase a place like this to everyone. Once again thank you to all those that made it so special

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyblue7Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here though it was only for two nights.

Since I was on my honeymoon, I had opted for The Rotorua Romance Retreat Package. The spa session was relaxing and the dinner at the restaurant far exceeded my expectation ( being a vegetarian, meals in NZ overall were outstanding !)

I would recommend renting a car here and visiting Waimangu Volcanic Valley.

The manager Praveen was extremely helpful and attended to our needs effectively and efficiently.

Room Tip: rooms on level 2 facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for one night at the end of a 3 week trip and bought the 'Lovers Delight' package. It was a fantastic way to end the trip. The location slightly out of Rotorua was perfect and beautifully set on the lake. We enjoyed the massage and use of the heated pool and jacuzzi. But most of all we loved the evening meal it was some of the best food we had in NZ. The room was clean and bright with a great bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ribena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to unwind-loved the hotpool-staff are very friendly and professional-nice little bar with lots of All Blacks memorabillia-clean comfortable rooms-loved it. Within easy reach of central Rotorua but the location is also very private.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjm299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.6 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
0.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Property: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Address: 77 Robinson Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing