We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service and Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2012

WE have now stayed here twice. The service has been outstanding each time. The rooms have been faultlessly clean and well appointed. The spa facility delightful.
What brought us back, besides the great service and comfortable rooms was the outstanding restaurant! What a delight! The food is just wonderful.....delicious (award winning cuisine year after year: see the trophy case in the reception area!) The food is equaled by the great service the staff provide.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dev0n60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 448 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed two nights midweek in a gound level, lakeview King bed studio. The room was smallish but modern, clean and well appointed, (although I found the bed a bit hard - maybe a topper pad would help?) The bathroom was clean with a nice walk-in tiled shower. We loved the big towels and fluffy robes - perfect for padding off to the pool/sauna area. It was too cold for the unheated main pool which overlooks the lake but off the spa area is a sauna, jacuzzi, steam room and 40 degree pool - lovely!

We ate dinner one night at the hotel's Mokoia restaurant which was exquisite - the menu is well designed and our meals were perfect (Blackened lamb, eye fillet and salmon fillet). The breakfasts were also excellent (kiwi big breakfast and waffles) Clever flavour combinations and all well presented.

All the staff we encountered were 10/10 - a very international group but consistently good. I also had a 1 hour massage in the spa - bliss!

The hotel is in a nice location, very quiet and we'd go again. Midweek was very quiet with not many guests(which suited us!), although they said they often get bigger groups through. You can walk along the lake edge for quite a way and it's about 5-10 minutes into town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

About a month ago my wife an I were gifted a Romance Retreat package by our daughter.From the time we arrived until when we left everything from the staff to the totally relaxing face massages we had then the vegetarian dinner and finally breakfast next morning was faultless.It made us proud to be NZers that we can showcase a place like this to everyone. Once again thank you to all those that made it so special

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyblue7Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here though it was only for two nights.

Since I was on my honeymoon, I had opted for The Rotorua Romance Retreat Package. The spa session was relaxing and the dinner at the restaurant far exceeded my expectation ( being a vegetarian, meals in NZ overall were outstanding !)

I would recommend renting a car here and visiting Waimangu Volcanic Valley.

The manager Praveen was extremely helpful and attended to our needs effectively and efficiently.

Room Tip: rooms on level 2 facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for one night at the end of a 3 week trip and bought the 'Lovers Delight' package. It was a fantastic way to end the trip. The location slightly out of Rotorua was perfect and beautifully set on the lake. We enjoyed the massage and use of the heated pool and jacuzzi. But most of all we loved the evening meal it was some of the best food we had in NZ. The room was clean and bright with a great bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ribena123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to unwind-loved the hotpool-staff are very friendly and professional-nice little bar with lots of All Blacks memorabillia-clean comfortable rooms-loved it. Within easy reach of central Rotorua but the location is also very private.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjm299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Recently my husband and I were given a Lovers Delight Package by our daughter. Upon arriving we were greeted by very professional and friendly staff, shown all the facilities and confirmed all our times for Spa, massage, dinner and breakfast. The Miri Miri massage was absolutely heaven, and felt like a puddle of calm afterwards. The dinner was beautifully presented and the tastes and textures were sheer delight.The use of our New Zealand native Kawakawa leaf, Manuka and Pikopiko incorporated into the massage components, and meal selections. Very innovative. Accommodation was up-market in decor, and the bathrooms well designed. Next morning the breakfast had great selection and presented very well. Highly recommend staying there as we were made to feel very important and welcome. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: A room away from the Main reception and closer to lake would be quieter for those wanting a good ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
2.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
3.3 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Address: 77 Robinson Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $124 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 10 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing