We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat!”
Review of Wai Ora Spa

Wai Ora Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua, central to Rotorua Airport, the city and the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This contemporary lakeside resort features luxurious accommodation, and superb day spa facilities centred on New Zealand’s geothermal, cultural and natural heritage.
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
“Lovely retreat!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for a pamper weekend for our girlfriends 40 th birthday, and what a lovely weekend it was. Amongst all the different treatment options, I had a wonderful miri miri massage followed by a very relaxing mud wrap and then a gorgeous facial, just heaven.
The rooms were lovely, not that we spent much time in there as we spent most of our time lounging in the lovely mineral pools.
The on site restaurant has food to die for.... We ate far too much! The shared entrees and deserts are the way to go, that way you can sample a good range of the menu.
I will definitely be returning.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great venue, nice spa”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The people are nice, nice clean and safe location. Good facilities. The beds are bad but, which is a shame. Took the polish off our stay. Great day spa and heated mineral pool was a nice change for a dip late at night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ajsorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi Beach, null, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful & relaxing !”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just stayed at the Wai Ora for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary.This spa resort is in a fabulous quiet setting, with stunning lake views & sunsets - very peaceful. The staff were always very helpful & attentive when required, & the food in the restaurant was excellent. We did indulge in a massage - thank you to the girls, it was magic! If you are looking for a lovely boutique style hotel, well away from the noisy city, then I would recommend to stay here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“beautiful peaceful location, amazing staff!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My boyfriend booked me in for a pamper day at wai ora spa,i had a full body massage, a mud body wrap and a facial. It was so relaxing, i got looked after extremely well by the wonderful staff, especially my therapist Amy.i would definately recommend this place for a couple of hours escape or a day out withthe girls,i also got some lovely herbal tea and a cheese platter!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank efinnegan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely rooms and a great location right on the lake. The service from all the staff was fantastic. Breakfast was amazing. The outdoor hot pool is great for relaxing in at night. We tried to book a massage at the hotel spa but it was fully booked but the hotel provided a free transfer to the Hell's gate spa and back where they offer the same treatments. We will definitely be back again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluebelle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wai Ora Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wai Ora Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing