We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High above what we expected”
Review of Wai Ora Spa

Wai Ora Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Spas & Wellness in Rotorua
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua, central to Rotorua Airport, the city and the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This contemporary lakeside resort features luxurious accommodation, and superb day spa facilities centred on New Zealand’s geothermal, cultural and natural heritage.
Amos, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High above what we expected”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We`ve been there for 3 nights with 2 childs under 10. We were based there to explore the Rotorua region. The rooms were really confortables and cleans. We ate all of our dinners there and it was awesome. The staff was extremely kind with us and with the childs. We haven`t use the spa treatment.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lfavreault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really relaxing”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I recently visited the Wai Ora lakeside spa resort. My wife and I booked in for the Mirimiri treatment ( use of spa and massage ) and I can thouroughly recommend this if you wish to totally unwind. Attentive staff looked after all our needs, and I couldn't fault the service. We will definitely be going back for another visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Highlight of NZ trip”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Nothing to complain. Loved this place. Located at the edge of Lake Rotorua, there were beautiful views of the lake. Great for walks around it.

We had a room on the ground floor. The room was beautifully appointed with a small bowl of complimentary fruits. There were dressing gowns, and hot water bottles provide for cold nights. The heater in the room worked very well. The shower was hot and strong. Plunger coffee and fresh milk was provided.

We had the shared entrees and shared mains so we could try as many dishes as possible. All the meals were beautifully presented and delicious. We thought the seafood chowder and the duck was the best, but all the other meals were just as good. We were too full to try dessert. Also recommend the 4 wines, chosen by the staff to match the meals. We like the Tohu label wine. Apparently it is the only wine produced by the Maoris. We understand the food incorporated local produce and thought it was a brilliant showcase of indigenous ingredients.
Breakfast was ala carte and part of the package. Technically you could order every item on the menu but I was not that greedy. We had the Kiwi breakfast (sausage, bacon, eggs and 2 small discs of kumera hash browns) and the eggs benedict with salmon. All delicious and beautifully presented.

Glad there was free wi-fi (rare for a 4-5 star hotel), great facilities, lovely dining room and a very elegant looking bar. Definitely an All Blacks fan.

All the good things about this place was complemented by the efficient and lovely staff especially the duty managers.

Could not fault this place. Will come back if we are ever in Rotorua again.

If you can’t stay at this place, I strongly recommend that you at least try the restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Love_Life_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommend - thank you xo”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort along with my sister and her husband for our wedding anniversaries. The whole experience at this resort was first class. Every staff member, from the time of making the booking were exceptional. They were so friendly and helpful. Imagine arriving on a beautiful day to our welcome glass of bubbles which we had in the spa pool, followed by a relaxing massage. The food in the restaurant was exceptional! The mineral pool was delightful. We really did not want to leave our little piece of paradise and cannot thank everyone enough for making this such a wonderful weekend for us all. We would highly recommend the "Lovers Delight" package deal. Look forward to a return visit!...x

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A rejuvenating beauty therapy treatment.”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Loved the 20 mins. soak in the hot thermal pool to begin with followed by a full body massage by Melissa which was a first for
me and so delightful and relaxing - just what I needed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josie006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wai Ora Spa also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Wai Ora Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing