We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mokoia Restaurant

Mokoia Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 218 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $80
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mokoia Restaurant is a definitive fine dining experience featuring creative Pacific Rim cuisine using fresh and flavoursome local ingredients. The restaurant specializes in healthy gourmet cuisine using unique indigenous foods and herbs. Executive Chef Ervin Y Garde has created a menu that he feels embraces the essence of contemporary New Zealand culture. Join us for breakfast, high teas, lunch and dinner, enjoy freshly squeezed beverages from our fresh juice bar and experience first class hospitality in a positively breath-taking lakefront location.
Naxxar Malta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were staying at the Lake House B&B and the hosts suggested this resturant which was a convenient 5 min walk away. We do not regret we took their advise cause it was one of the most wonderful dinners we had whilst in New Zealand. The menu is very diverse and you most definitely will be tempted to try everything, but they help you out cause u can have a selection of starters mains and desserts. We did that and had the chance of tasting a selection of different kind of food. The food itself was wonderful with a hint of their local herbs. I aored the green mussels cooked in a very unusual coconut sauce. Simply divine.The ambience was vey cosy and romantic. Service was very good. A bit expensive but worth every penny.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    34
    21
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit to Mokoia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recommended by our B&B hosts whose lakeside home The lake House is a 5 minute walk. We visited on a weekday evening, no booking reservation required. Very welcoming staff at reception and restaurant ( this is a spa and hotel too) On arrival only four other diners so we wondered whether we'd made the right choice. Obviously the owner is a fan of rugby as virtually all the artwork on the walls are signed rugby shirts ( yes I know we are in NZ! ) just didn't match the ambience in my opinion, but sure majority would disagree ( sorry) However the service at table was friendly and knowledgable. Excellent choice on menu which encourages " platters to share" great idea as a couple we had a choice of 3 mains to share. We didnt mind waiting as I feel this shows meals are freshly prepared. Presentation was superb and all food very tasty and was soon demolished! We didn't have starters or desserts ( but we heard fellow diners exclaim with admiration on their own desserts!) we opted for the cheese board and again thoroughly enjoyed. Nice touch of being offered a chocolate truffle/ fudge on leaving but wondered why this hadn't been at the end of meal at the table ( maybe we were just too quick as we didnt order coffee) only mentioning this because we had sticky chocolate fingers on paying the bill... A small inconvenience after a very enjoyable restaurant experience. Would certainly recommend to others for a classy dining experience with obviously highly skilled team. Well done!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindsayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High tea $25pp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

For High tea at $25pp this is a great find as not many places offer high tea in Rotorua (served 12-3pm at least 1-2 days noticed need)

The tea menu was surprising as it was not your usual english breakfast, earl grey etc instead interesting and delicious mixed blends that had lemongrass and other unexpected ingredients.

We were given the best table, in front of the folding doors with views out to the water and pool.

The savory items were delicious however the sweet items lacked a bit of range. It was mostly chocolate, choc fudge, choc cake, choc shortbread cookies.

Overall, the atmosphere was good, service efficient, food ok and price very reasonable

Helpful?
Thank DAI51E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The best meal in a month of travelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a fantastic restaurant in a very unassuming and ordinary looking hotel.
The food was excellent and good quality, the sharing platters a unique and fantastic idea.
An amazing dining experience - wished I lived nearer!!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdbridge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Shown to a table and then left to site for 30 mins before being given a menu. My starter (mussels) had obviously been left sizzling in the kitchen to long. Had to wait another 40 mins for desserts - we shared a trio of deserts - pavlova was stale, self saucing gateau was dry and coffee ice cream had melted and been refrozen. We stayed at the hotel and were shown the restaurant awards on arrival which makes our experience all the more disappointing!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank roamer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokoia Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Mokoia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing