We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$118
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$158
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/21
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$336
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$525
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
70
96
39
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
96
39
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomcommon kitchenbooked a private roomrooms are smallbudget accommodationtwo nightshusband and wifewifi worksfew minutes walkoff street parkingcentral locationbooking activitiessmall fridgefresh towelsfriendly receptioninformation centrecooking facilities
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 234 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2018

Basic hostel located in a quiet place but close to the city center of Rotorua,but clean with fair prices and car park
Polite and helpful staff.
All the shops and restaurants are situated nearby,even supermarket

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tomasz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simran_Astray, Manager at Astray Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2018

thank you tomasz for your time to review to us, hope you enjoy your stay and activities in rotorua, have a great and safe year ahead
kind regards
sim motel manager astray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018

This place is cheap for a reason. Whilst the location is ideal, the rooms are small with thin walls. There is access to a kitchen/lounge on the top floor, however it wasn't as clean as the rest of the property. A laundry can be found downstairs beside reception.

You can only use the TV if you contact it to your laptop, as its a chromecast job. You will also have to pay for wifi.

The showers haven't been thought out very well. The space is so small, you have to squeeze in like an airlock system, due to the corridor and shower doors opening in conflict with each other.

There is parking, but it fills up fast and is limited. If you arrive late, you'll have to park on the street.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shyharley89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simran_Astray, Manager at Astray Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

thank you for your time to review us!!! as we are budget motel try to get everything under one roof for convenience of our guest in very budget and affordable price , we are trying our best to keep cleaning level upto expectations of our guest. as per location in the centre of the town so parking is limited but guest doesn't pay to park on street it is free thank you for choosing us and sorry for inconvenience you had , hope to see you in future to provide you even best,
have a safe and great journeys,
cheers!!!
sim manager astray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

Nice place and really helpful staff.
We had an en-suite room at a nice price.
Laundry room.
Centralised for the town centre.
Discount when booking activities through the motel.
Good eating and bars near the lake under a huge canopy.
5 minute walk from coach drop off by the information centre.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simran_Astray, Manager at Astray Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

perfect!! thank you jeff for your time to review, hope you enjoyed your tour to new zealand, i will pass your appreciation to my lovely staff,
enjoy your rest of the year, happy and save journeys throughout the year
kind regards
sim
manager astray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

Very satisfied with our stay. Woman at reception was very helpful and friendly from the moment we arrived . Room was clean and comfortable.
This place also has a great location right in the middles of the town

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Emer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simran_Astray, Manager at Astray Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

much appreciated your review for us!!! staff is strength to leads us more far away when being appreciated, i will pass on your comments to them, have a good one
regards
manager astray sim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2018

So my room was quite small and basically a box room. But what made this place very comfortable to stay in was that it was very clean, including the shared shower and toilets. The staff (especially Sim) were very friendly and helpful, and its location is actually quite central for going to Eat Streat, the i-Site and bus stops, the lake and tours from the main road. Good value for money overall.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pbs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simran_Astray, Manager at Astray Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

thank you my dear, i am honoured you mentioned my name and happy that i have served you best upto your expectations. thank you for your stay and appreciating our cleanness all credit goes to my wonderful staff and their hard work, thanks to share your experience for our other travellers. apart from the size of the room, we tried our best to give a great service to our guest. it good value for money as you said beyond size,
such a valuable feedback improves us every stage,
kind regards
sim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews