We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hostel in NZ very recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astray Motel
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Toulouse
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hostel in NZ very recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2010

Awesome and helpful owner and staff, small kitchen combined with a quiet living room, room and bathroom are very clean and modern, central location, get good discount backpackers deals if you book through them. Thank you again for everything

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junta85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    81
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
57
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

As always, i will preface this by saying my husband and I are med students and are on a LOW budget.

We booked this hotel on Wotif.com and opted for the 2 single beds room in order to save money. We thought we could push the beds together but when we got there we saw that wasn't the case. This was not a big deal and we just shared one single bed. For a small fee, you can upgrade to a double which might be worth it. We are low hassle so 2 single beds was fine for us. We used 1 to watch a movie (free Cable tv) and 1 to sleep in.

There was also a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The room was tight, (pretty small) but it was very clean and the beds were really comfy. Also, the private bathroom was spacious. There was also a common kitchen (accessed by key), which was small but never busy when we were there.

The location of this place is great. Astray was within walking (or a very short drive) distance to a large grocery store. It was also actually within walking distance to some pretty AWESOME geothermal activity. This little park at the end of the road was our (Free) intro to geothermal activity in Rotorua. There were natural warm foot spas and we opted for this free experience rather than pay a lot of money to go to a spa.

Speaking of geothermal activity, the whole area smells like sulfur, so if you think that might be a problem for you, stay outside of town? We didn't mind it, and quite enjoyed such a unique experience.

From our hotel, we drove to Wai-o-tapu geothermal park, which was an awesome experience, and was on the way to Lake Taupo (about an hour drive) where we also went to do some bungy jumping. We did a tandem jump which was really fun.

At Astray, there was free parking on site (and a hot tub, which we didn't use with so much outdoor geothermal activity) and the management was really nice and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

(by the way, this is a quiet hostel, and not a party one, so it's great for the slightly older crowd. )

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jude200859, owner at Astray Motel, responded to this review, April 15, 2009
hey
thanks for the review- :)
We have since had to get rid of the hot tub! Just to let other knows incase they were looking foward to a warm bath!(it was causing major water leak issues and wasn't thermal anyway) With the Polynesian spa a short walk we belive this is a way better option for guest.
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2009

Owners were extremely helpful.
rooms were a little small but thankfully i was in there by myself.
Close to everything.
Very clean

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

Ended up staying here after a spur of the moment decision to visit Rotorua on our way from Taupo-Auckland. Loved the funky decor and amenities. Everything is new and clean. There is off-street parking and a spa pool.

The rooms are very small, but well designed and comfortable. Also the picture of the building on the website and brochure has been photoshopped to remove the surrounding buildings.

Highly recommended for budget conscious travellers, but probably not families as the rooms are not very spacious.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bossythecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

Very good value for money; go along with last reviewers comments re the couple running the place - very friendly. Room very clean, with bar fridge, TV, tea and coffee, towels, soap (you might think these are standard everywhere - you'd be wrong...). Location uninspiring (no view, and a very ordinary city street), but that's hardly the fault of those running it. Only thing I would fault, really, is the twin room we had, which was VERY small, though it did have an ensuite and was very clean. Only there one night though, so a small room isn't such a concern for one night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkstar9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

Came here after bad experiences at another Rotorua Hotel. Astray restored my confidence in accommodation. The staff were lovely. The room was clean, tidy and really comfortable. The room was a bit smaller then most but had a really comfortable bed and large screen TV.

The whole experience was exceptional for the price. They even had wireless at very reasonable prices which is incredibly rare in Rotorua.

  • Liked — service, style
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TikiEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astray Motel

Property: Astray Motel
Address: 1198 - 1204 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astray Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua Motel ASTRAY is a Quality budget accommodation at competitive prices in central Rotorua. We have off street parking, Freeview TV, Free WiFi. Common-room, kitchen & laundry. Close enough to walk to Rotorua's many restaurants, bars and cafes, but far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. Astray is an easy walk from thermal areas, hot pools, Rotorua's lake-front, i-site (information centre) and bus stop for intercity buses. Rotorua city buses and shuttles stop right outside the door. We know all the "must do" activities in Rotorua and we can book you in. Our motel accommodation in double studios, twin studios, and 1 & 2 bedroom studios. All with ensuite bathroom, Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer a wide range of budget accommodation: 4-bed bunkrooms, 2-bed bunkroom, budget doubles and budget single. All budget rooms come with shared facilities. Rotorua Motel ASTRAY look forward to hosting you in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Astray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing