We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Astray Motel
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have stayed in both the Backpacker rooms and Motel Units and we find both great value for money.Rooms are fully made up, very modern and super clean. Location is perfect for getting around Rotorua. The bus stop is on the doorstep and these buses can get you to all the main attractions Rotorua has to offer. The best thing about this place is the owners. Frank and Sue will help you with anything and have great knowledge of the area. They also do really good internet. Fast/ Reliable and really cheap at only $5 for 3hours! We will definatley recommend this place to friends and will be back the next time we are in Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    81
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
25
57
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is lovely, the rooms are spotless and very nicely decorated. The beds are the comfiest we've had in a long time! The owners are so sweet and helpful and they know a lot about the area! The internet is fast, there is parking onsite, and our room even had a cute little shared balcony. Another plus was having an oven in the kitchen which has been quite rare throughout the other hostels we have stayed in. would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Was here for 2 nights and all whas great, helpful staff, laundryroom and parking right outside the rooms. I would stay again if i come to Rotorua again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micke80_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

we booked this as a result of a last minute couple of days away with overseas visitors. We wanted cheap and somewhere that could accommodate their family of 5. We were very impressed with what we got. The rooms were clean, modern, extremely compact but designed in a way that utilized all the space.we had family units that came with cooking facilities and the kids even got their own room. No need for a designated driver - your in the city so its an easy walk to dinner. The hosts are lovely.

Room Tip: Travelling with the family - ask for air conditioned room in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinghi_auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed in the dorm with 4 beds but Frank the owner let us had our room with only three of us. The room was very small that we had to stay in bed when we got into the room. Only one person could move around. anyway, the location is right in Rotorua town and it can be reached to the lake and other attractions easily. Plus, the parking space is provided without any cost. Frank was a nice and friendly person. He provides lots of information about Rotorua and other towns clearly. We surely stay at this motel again next time when we go to Rotorua but we will stay in a bigger room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuiSethapun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

My wife, my daughter 10 years old and I stayed here for 2 nights. I admit that I chose the cheapest accommodation in Rotorua. Oh, and I was pleasantly surprised when I saw two rooms! It is sometimes so important when you're traveling with your daughter. There is good parking, a small kitchen on the second floor, a microwave and a few kitchenware in the room. There are many restaurants and stores around the hotel. The hotel is very clean and nice. We enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

stayed 5 days in one of the family units (sleeps 4) great in room amenities - fridge, oven, microwave so easy to prep meals for children (3 girls). Very clean room and common areas, saw staff cleaning every morning, which is always a good sign. Clean and nice vibe that the children were comfortable enough to go to the common kitchen alone to get the odd kitchen utensil. The owners are so friendly that the girls were also comfortable enough to ask them for information and brochures regarding Rotorua activities by themselves. Highly recommend Astray for families - don't be put off by backpackers...this is not a backpackers party place, so affordable accomodation for all. Great location to explore Rotorua and then come back for a rest and then head out again. It is compact accomodation so will get a little squeezed at meal times (if all adults or teenage kids) but we had no probs as lucky to get sun all week, so always had dinner outside the room (table and chairs on the balcony). For 2 nights the place was completely full - only knew because no vacancy sign went up in office, otherwise wouldn't have even known as quiet and peaceful. Did hear tv in next room a couple of nights but not major. Thanks to Frank & Sue & staff for a great stay

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwizWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astray Motel

Property: Astray Motel
Address: 1198 - 1204 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astray Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua Motel ASTRAY is a Quality budget accommodation at competitive prices in central Rotorua. We have off street parking, Freeview TV, Free WiFi. Common-room, kitchen & laundry. Close enough to walk to Rotorua's many restaurants, bars and cafes, but far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. Astray is an easy walk from thermal areas, hot pools, Rotorua's lake-front, i-site (information centre) and bus stop for intercity buses. Rotorua city buses and shuttles stop right outside the door. We know all the "must do" activities in Rotorua and we can book you in. Our motel accommodation in double studios, twin studios, and 1 & 2 bedroom studios. All with ensuite bathroom, Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer a wide range of budget accommodation: 4-bed bunkrooms, 2-bed bunkroom, budget doubles and budget single. All budget rooms come with shared facilities. Rotorua Motel ASTRAY look forward to hosting you in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Astray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing