We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free volcanic attraction right in the middle of town”
Review of Kuirau Park

Kuirau Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.56*
and up
Tauranga Shore Excursion: Rotorua Naturally Tour
Ranked #15 of 110 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Free volcanic attraction right in the middle of town”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This park is diagonally across the road from the YHA and next to the Top Ten Holiday Park. It is free and has plenty of little mud pools and steaming water to look at. All of the geothermal features are fenced (to about waist heigh), so is suitable for children, but would need to be supervised still. We wandered around for about an hour and still didn't see anything. Definitely a good thing to check out while you are in town.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tractor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    298
    92
    12
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“easy parking and free”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Well there are lots of experiences you can pay for in Rotorua but the main park has lots of thermal pools, the usual smells and its all free of charge. Plenty of parking, loos and even a small thermal pool to dip your feet in, as well as the public hot spring baths. Children of ALL ages will enjoy. Better than the Government park which is a bit of a walk away, so drive, but again plenty of free parking. Apart from that the town is much the same as many in the area and there are better ones with more interesting things to explore (ref Kitikiti)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Amazing even in the rain”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We simply went for a walk in the rain whilst visiting Rotorua and stumbled across this gem of a park. We wandered amongst the steaming, bubbling geothermal pools before finding the public hot spring baths. We raced back to our van and changed into our swimming cossies and got straight in. It was so relaxing looking out over the small lake with Chinese bridge, seeing the cold rain sweeping around us as we bathed in the hot bath. We did feel slightly awkward as all the raincoat clad tourists gathered around us but it's a brilliant place to go and experience the geothermal activity of the area and for free as opposed to paying for the expensive spas. The park itself is really nice too and in the main carpark in the centre there is a fair every Saturday.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great fun for All”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

While our toddler was enjoying the swings in the park, our family of adults enjoyed the walk around the park of the Geothermal sites and also the pool where you could dip your feet in.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
344 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Nice Way To See Thermal Pools For Free!!!!!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We visited here before leaving Rotorua. It's a nice park to walk around and would be ideal for things like picnics.

It has some amazing looking hot pools that you can see deep inside, and I actually felt a little freaked at one point, thinking about how all that is sitting right below Rotorua!

While there, we said a prayer for the poor boy that lost his life after falling into one of the pools :'(

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacob15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuirau Park also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Kuirau Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing