We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going to Rotorua? Look no further.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Rotorua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going to Rotorua? Look no further.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Book a room here if you would like 5-star like service and facilities. The rooms are clean, staff are courteous and it is smack dab in the middle of everything in Rotorua. 2 min drive down the road to lakeside, town and eat st.

if you have a young family, this place is ideal. The hostess went out of her way to help us out.

Room Tip: there is parking in front of the rooms but is not assigned to your room as half of the rooms have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sunny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your lovely review of Leisure Inn Rotorua, its great to see that you witnessed the best we have to offer in the heart of the adventure capital of New Zealand. Our location is certainly advantageous to travellers and families looking to stay in a quiet and centralized location.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Leisure Inn Rotorua.

Kind regards

KV Ranawat
Hotel Manager - Leisure Inn Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    76
    42
    18
    15
See reviews for
71
87
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We found Leisure Inn perfect for our family of 5. Heaps of room, friendly service. The heated pool and spa kept the kids happy and not wanting to leave.
We stayed 3 nights and would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with kids try get a pool front room for easy supervision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vckm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are really glad that your enjoyed your visit to New Zealand’s adventure capital. Our pool and spa is always a winner and im glad you made the most it during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you sometime in the near future.

Kind regards,

KV Ranawat
Hotel Manager – Leisure Inn Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very much liked the place. Big comfortable room, very pleasant and helpful staff. Good facilities in the room and a bus stop right outside for the short ride into the centre of Rotarua. On the con side a fairly awkward shower control but once fathomed out and the temperature consistent all good. Excellent free wifi via tickets from reception. Very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeeAyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, General Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for your positive review of our hotel, we do pride ourselves on our customer service and its great to hear that we excel in this area. I apologise for your experience with our in-room shower but am pleased to hear that it did not cause too much trouble. Our location and proximity to the bus stop and city centre is always a positive for our guests, as is the free WiFi..

We look forward to hosting you once again on your next adventure to Rotorua.

Kind regards

KV Ranawat
Hotel Manager - Leisure Inn Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

My friend and I had traveled up from Wellington for a running event in Rotorua. Unfortunately I thought I had booked us in but turns out I didn't do it correctly. Thankfully the lovely staff made us feel very welcome and sorted another room for us straight away. Really loved our stay here and highly recommend Leisure Inn to anyone looking for a great place to stay :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolo12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, General Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our property, it was great to hear feedback about our customer service skills. It is always greatly appreciated to hear such positive comments about your experience at our property.

We hope to welcome you for your next adventure in Rotorua sometime soon.

Best regards,

KV Ranawat
Hotel Manager - Leisure Inn Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We recently stayed here and were so impressed with the quality of service. Room size was amazing and contained two queen size beds. Reception was always happy to help with enquiries and offer advice. Free wifi was a definite highlight. Rooms were immaculate and serviced each day. Would highly recommend Leisure Inn, Rotorua. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leah251287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, General Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Kia Ora, my team and I here at Leisure Inn Rotorua is pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much for your positive feedback, it means a lot to us.

We hope to welcome you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

KV Ranawat
General Manager - Leisure Inn Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was the best hotel from my whole trip in Australia and New Zealand - and offered more for less than any other hotel in that region.

The pros include free parking, free wi-fi and a spacious room (actually more like a small apartment), and easy to find location in the outskirts of Rotorua.

The only cons are the breakfast (not that it's exactly bad, but they offer only continental) and the fact that reception works until 9 p.m., so if you have not asked for your daily internet credentials in the morning, you are offline until next morning ;-)

Rotorua itself is a nice small town offering outstandingly delicious food in the two places I had breakfast and dinner at, and is very convenient for exploring the lakes, the geothermal phenomena in the region and Bay of plenty.

Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, General Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Kia Ora, Thank you for being very open and honest, it is great to hear that we are the best accommodation provider you stayed in on your trip to Australia and New Zealand and at a reasonable price.

Our reception timings are from 7:30 am till 9 pm, We are happy to go an extra mile for every guest and in this case we could have kept the wifi credentials in your room for you only if we had known that you will be arriving later than 9 pm.

We look forward to welcome you again at Leisure Inn Rotorua in future.

KV Ranawat,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for three nights recently and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were very tidy and quiet comfortable. The pool area and outdoor spa were very clean and relaxing after a busy day. The only negative is that it's a bit out of town and we found it necessary to drive when heading out for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmliro, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Leisure Inn Rotorua, our team works very hard especially our housekeeping department to keep it clean and tidy. I have passed on your feedback to our housekeepers and please accept a big thank you from all of us for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.

Warm regards,

KV Ranawat
Hotel Manager - Leisure Inn Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#41 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Rotorua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Rotorua Hotel

Property: Lake Rotorua Hotel
Address: 131 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inn Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Rotorua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a geothermal wonderland, the Lake Rotorua Hotel offers 38 rooms, including a family rooms, one bedroom units and studio rooms. The hotel is a 15 minute stroll or 5 minute drive to Rotorua CBD, amenities include a swimming pool and heated spa. Private parking is also available for guests' convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Lake Rotorua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing