We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room, great in-room outdoor mineral hottub, good kitchen, poor beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Found this room thru the local information office. At $95NZ Good clean, basic room, but the beds were uncomfortable and ended up sleeping on the couch in the room. Granted, I have a back problem, but found that subsequently when we paid the same price or a bit more for a motel the beds were firm and comfortable. Recommend just driving around and choosing a motel that looks up to your standards, then LOOKING at the room. That's what we did and had no future poor experiences. It's quite accepted in NZ and even though it takes a little more time, it's well worth the trouble. Owner very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 89 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment which was a little dated but very clean. A 5 minute walk to the centre of town and a 10-15 minute walk to Lake Rotorua. Cinema across the road and plenty of Bars and Restaurant in the centre of town. Friendly and helpful staff and owners who can recommend and book your activities for you, sometimes with discounts.
For teenages and immature adults you have to go to the Luge rides down the mountain and the Sky Swing which is also there. You can get a package which is heaps cheaper which includes 2 Luge rides,Skyswing and Gondola ride to the top of the mountain. But if you can get more Luge rides than 2, do that because it costs $9 for 1 go, and twice is not enough.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We recently stayed at this motel with our baby and had what we considered the perfect family holiday. The room was spacious, very clean and well equipped with a kitchen unit that had everything we needed. We felt very at home. There is a lovely outdoor pool that is heated which was great for us as we could take the little one in for a swim. I am quite surprised to read the review 'faulting' the owners as we found them very warm and accommodating to our needs. In saying this I would recommend if you are looking for a place to 'party' then this is not the motel for you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenandrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

A clean and tidy premises on arrival,but what a unpleasent experience with the owners. We booked 4 double units with plunge pools,and were made to feel unwelcome from the initial booking phone call. I thought that maybe Cybil was having a bad day, but once we arrived and inconvenced her by asking why the hot water wasn't working in our plunge pool, she explained how all these terrible people that pay money too stay here wear things out - and they expect them to keep them maintained :"the cheek of these paying customers" - getting the picture... Things just got worse from here. They didn,t have a bible in the room, but they did have a rule book of similar thickness. Then there's all the back up rules pined up every where in the room. #1 thou shall not enjoy yourselves. What ever you do, don't stay here - it will put a real dampner on your holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank auks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jejenoumea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turlans2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#82 of 92 in Rotorua
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#86 of 92 in Rotorua
60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
92 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairy Springs Motel
Fairy Springs Motel
#46 of 92 in Rotorua
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $73 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuirau Park Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at main road of Rotorua, Our premises is just walking distance away from city focus of shops,restaurants and cinemas. An amazing day can be started from Kuirau Park, the local hot pot situated next to us, including hot springs and mud pools, for exploring the city steeped in Maori history and legend. All guest unit is self-contained with full kitchen and some of them are wheelchair accessible. Free wireless connection and SKY 50+ digital TV are offered. Genuine mineral SPA as well as an outdoor swimming pool gives you opportunity having water fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing