We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Group stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have used this motel a few times now over the years and it certainly needs a revamp now. The facilities are very tired, eg rotten wood in the bathroom, curtains that only just meet in the bedrooms. There was not much in the way of service for these rooms - no beds made or dishes done - it's nice to have something for the money you pay, not just a roof over your head. Saying that, the location is great, but I'm not sure if we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
34
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Booked via phone for 2 bedroom apartment for 4 of us. On arrival was charged $160 for 2 bedroom, went upstairs only to find we had been given a 1 bedroom unit with only 3 beds in total. reception staff advised this was all they had, no apology given. Room we received was shown online at a charge of only $100 as well so felt had tried to rip us off . Guy on reception didnt offer to help I had to ask for him to ring other motels to find us somewhere to stay at such short notice. He found us a 3 bedroom for $185 when I asked if they would cover the extra $25 since it was their stuff up was told no we dont do that, really didnt seem to care he was spoiling a family holiday at all, I could maybe understand that mistakes happen but you expect people to accept responsiblity, apologise for the mistake and offer to help rectify it, extremely disappointed in the service here. I even advised that I would be placing bad feedback on sites about them! Sent an email to the address listed on website to advise owners perhaps, but never heard anything back from them either. We weren't the only ones that day either there was also another lady with young kids that had booked a unit with own pool which her kids had been excited about, she had been let down too, and when we left to take the 3 bedroom at the extra cost because we were left with no other options at the time, she was still looking for a room elsewhere!Bad form Kuirau Motel, will not be recommending you!

Room Tip: Request to check that the room you are given is the one you booked before paying anything
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuirau Park M, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Lisa,

We are so sorry for what had happened with your booking and we recognise the fault was from our end. As explained to you, we had a computer crashed and bookings got mucked up. We did our best to fix things for you by offering you an alternative unit (1 bedroom) that accommodates the number of people you had. We beg to differ that we gave you a 1 bedroom unit for the price of a 2 bedroom unit. That 1 bedroom unit has never been sold anytime anywhere online for $100 as claimed (maybe you mistaken it for a studio unit price). When you expressed that you wasn’t satisfied with what we offered, only then we suggested that we (not you) find you accommodation elsewhere. Also the lady that you mentioned weren’t happy with us is unfounded as she even came back to thank us for finding them an appropriate alternate accommodation.

Sincerely,
Rhose and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

London, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is an older motel, it is clean but could use some updating. We had booked a studio room with hot tub but were disapppointed to find the tub was a concrete bowl and was not appealing. The beds were way too soft. There was a lot of noise from the pipes that provide thermal water to the hot tubs. We wanted to do laundry but all machines except one dryer were out of service in the guest laundryroom. However, the location is within walking distance to the city centre and shopping mall. This was the only motel on our journey where we had to pay the full amount on check-in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea4Me13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

One of the hot pools was out of action during our stay in February and the other was dirty. The outdoor pool was good, but its surrounding overgrown and untidy. The road noise was too much for us - but otherwise it was very central and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taumarunui
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times through work. Have always enjoyed my stay as beds are comfy, and rooms are adequate for the length of time spent in them. As others have said it is an old motel in a prime spot. I do have to say that the new manager we met seemed lost and they didn't take control of the noise makers at 1 to about 3am both mornings. Rooms tidy & clean & exactly what I needed to sleep.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mallorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Older complex Unit was very large size and seemed to be part way through a refurbishment Priced at the lower end of the scale and this seemed appropriate given the age and decor of the motel

Handy location for central city, quiet and fully equipped - even a full size stove

Staff seemed to lack experience and knowledge

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolaga Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Older style motel but clean and well located so you are able to walk to many places. The 2 mineral pools are very nice and private We chose this motel for its location, mineral pools and price and we were very happy with our stay. The cooked breakfast on our last morning was delicious. Lynda asked what we would like and even went so far as to shop especially for ingredients that were not normally available to make us a special meal. A word of warning though. The managers are about to be replaced and we felt that it was Steve and Lynda that contributed greatly to how we felt about the motel. We would be reading reviews carefully before we chose to stay there again.

Room Tip: Unit 20 is upstairs and further away from the other units and quieter. A bit further from the minera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandkNgatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.0 mi away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#87 of 93 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Property: Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuirau Park Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at main road of Rotorua, Our premises is just walking distance away from city focus of shops,restaurants and cinemas. An amazing day can be started from Kuirau Park, the local hot pot situated next to us, including hot springs and mud pools, for exploring the city steeped in Maori history and legend. All guest unit is self-contained with full kitchen and some of them are wheelchair accessible. Free wireless connection and SKY 50+ digital TV are offered. Genuine mineral SPA as well as an outdoor swimming pool gives you opportunity having water fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing