We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
10
13
12
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
13
12
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom unit would definitely stay here again within walking distance motel microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2019

This was a large two bedroom unit. It was old and somewhat tired but clean and comfortable.Was quiet until street noise shouting around 5am. The thermal pool was out of action. Parking was tight but ok. Location was very close to supermarket etc. Very pleasant folk at reception.

Date of stay: October 2019
Thank windmilltilting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Just recently stayed at this hotel, for a sports tournament. It was ok, rooms are quite small, very dated furniture and it just really needed a full reno. It's clean though. Limited parking on site but manageable, does have heated individual mineral pools but they again need a full renovation and clean out.Big pool is good. Very close to town within walking distance, so ideal location. Outlook not the best so if you are after cheap and handy with a pool it's ideal for a wee break.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank KarenM9505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

The unit could be featured on the Derelict NZ Facebook page. It’s not a nice place, old and rundown to put it kindly. Even parking is very tight. Very depressing. Expensive for the condition it is in.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NameGame123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this motel! Everything was clean and tidy and nothing was too much trouble.

We especially enjoyed the heated outdoor pool!

The washing facilities were very good and we were able to get our clothes dried in no time on the good washing line provided.

Would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RosWheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

My wife and I had a one night stay at Kowhai & Colonial Motel during our visit to Rotorua. It is easily located, we didn't have any difficulty driving to the motel. The check in was smooth, greeted by the owner itself and offering us a bottle of drink. We opted for studio unit that comes with functional kitchen i.e. hot plate, microwave, fridge, plates, cups, cooking oil, salt, pepper to name a few. Very clean room and well equipped. The location is convenient as well, since it is located in the city centre with shop and restaurant are just a walking distance. Plus, the main attractions such as Skyline Rotorua, Rainbow Springs Nature Park, Mitai Maori Village are just less than 10 mins drive from the Motel. Worth the price, will definitely be back again.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank amirmnoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews