We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty & Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Hotel was close to town,the wifi was generous and the pool was great BUT the rooms were dirty!! We had to wipe out the cupboards before putting our groceries away, there were hairs in the shower & cigarette butts under the bed. If the unit was clean it would be a great place to stay even if the units were a little dates.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessiesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Overall a great experience. Basic / dated decor, but if you complain about this then you are missing the point!This is Budget Accommodation and it is all comfortable and very clean rooms. Great to have our own hot tub, pool access and fast, almost unlimited Wifi. Free washing machine is very useful. Staff are helpful and kind. 3-4 mins walk from centre of town. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Further back from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtravellerAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We are not exactly sure how we ended up with this reservation but it really isn't what we'd usually pick. The room was just okay and it is very basic and somewhat depressing. The manager was a dear---a real keeper but this was smokey and worn down apartment. Would we return---no but we loved the kind manager

Room Tip: Select another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second visit. A great budget place to stay. This time we chose a unit with a private outside spa. This was great to complement Rotorua's hot pools. As it is an older style motel our unit had full separate kitchen with dining table and also a separate toilet. Obliging owners and good standard of cleanliness. If you are not worried about being in dated decor then can wholeheartedly recommend. We will come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Kowhai for 2 nights in september and then returned for a funeral in Rotorua for another 2 nights, good little hotel, some of the rooms were dated but clean and tidy, the thermal heating worked really well, the pool was a lovely temperature we were swimming during the evening on a cold night. Pillows were a bit hard for me, I asked and they provided softer ones. Family friendly and quiet. Knowledgeable staff. It has two nice private inclusive mineral pools which leave your skin feeling moisturised. Inclusive wireless internet.
Overall good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are better, but the pool is offlimits after 9 so you can get a quiet sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jansen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Just come home from 3 days in Rotorua staying at this motel. Whilst an older type motel, it is really clean with towels changed daily. There was a problem with one of the rooms our party was given and it was rectified straight away. One can't ask for more from a motel owner. Also very reasonably priced and close to the city. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the road are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Certainly not a fancy place, but a very good deal. Clean and enough space. Got a 1 bedroom unit with a queen and 2 single beds and fully equipped kitchen, perfect for our family. Free wifi internet and pool, free laundry, just needed to pay for the dryer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReBiPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#54 of 91 in Rotorua
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 91 in Rotorua
1,187 reviews
1 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#44 of 91 in Rotorua
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#49 of 91 in Rotorua
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#33 of 91 in Rotorua
225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#12 of 91 in Rotorua
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowhai and Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowhai and Colonial Motel

Address: 1232 Ranolf Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: $77 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kowhai and Colonial Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kowhai and Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing