We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of Arista Capri Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arista Capri Motel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We wandered into Rotorua late after driving up from Waikaremoana after a day hike and were eager for some relaxation. We hadn't counted on the unsealed Rte 38 and this cost us a lot of precious travel time. We only got in to Rotorua after 9pm . The array of hotel neon up and down Fenton St is intimidating to the travel weary. For my brethren I have no trouble recommending The Capri Court Motor Inn. After we had stopped at several hotels looking for vacancies we arrived at Gordon's establishment. He gave us a deal on a room , and was very happy that we actually negotiated rather than simply walk out. The room was excellent with all the nice touches promised. OK I am a dude , but even a dude appreciates a bubble bath after a 4 day hike. Gordon gave a good recommendation to Obbies ( top quality chippie) for some food and then we could relax in the spa pool ( one in each room) . The room has everything you want including a nice big TV with good sports channels . My wife ( who appreciated the compliment that she look's like Julia Roberts) (actually a pregnant Julia Roberts) ( because she is pregnant) would say rather, that she really appreciated all the fine touches, such as the top quality soaps and lotions and bedside chocolates. A very endearing experience ( and I have stayed a lot in hotels) because of the true genuine warmth of the inkeep who gave me and ,my pregnant wife a good deal just before Christmas...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Wow ! What an awesome review - we greatly appreciated your kind words of encouragement and to know you had a blast. We love it when we see our guests appreciating the finer touches of our units. Great to have you stay - all the best for the up and coming birth - take care of Julia Roberts!! :) - hope to see you again ! Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 550 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a very decent motel...the staff were friendly and made available BBQ facilities. Having a room with its own Spa was nice extra and within easy access of getting to the sights. (At least by car but you can walk to Polynesian spa and some eateries) Free WiFi was pretty essential for us nowadays. Overall good motel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank paddyschecter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thanks for your review, we are very pleased that you found your stay comfortable, and enjoyed the Spa Pool in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

More than 20 flies flying all over our room. And the spa pool is even worst, with cob webs and many insects inside. Other than that all ok. But flies are enough to creep me out. And did not really expect that wifi is payable after a small amount of 300mb given.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilson C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Owner at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Unfortunately fly season is upon us with the heat and humidity and nature plays it's part and this is something we do not have any control over. As you were aware, there is plenty of fly spray provided in the rooms for your use - today we have gone one step further an placed automatic insect sprays in the rooms for the summer period and hopefully this will make it all a little more comfortable for guests. Regards Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely, clean motel. Very friendly host. We got very good first hand advice on what to do and where to go. They also offered discount coupons. There is super market near by motel.

I highly recommend the Capri Court in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashishnarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, it was also a pleasure to have you stay. Kind Regards Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed there for the weekend of the Rotorua Half Marathon and owners were very accommodating - letting us have a late checkout and going back to have a shower after the race. Fantastic location nice and handy and room was big and spacious for a family with baby. Will definitely be back next time we are in Rotorua!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Glad we could assist in some small way to make your stay more comfortable after the marathon, and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future - thanks heaps for the review - Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We found Capri Court very comfortable and convenient during our stop over in Rotorua. The room had been freshly painted and was clean and spacious. The large spa was a real hit. Gordon and Cheryl were very friendly and happy to advise on Rotorua's attractions. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuzza60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Owner at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Makes me happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay - thanks heaps - Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Having arrived we had trouble locating as we were looking for the Best Wester sign, this is no longer a Best Wester motel.
The room was clean and comfortable, however, noise came from both sides and could quite clearly be heard late into the evening, not a fault with the new owners but shows the rooms have no sound insulation. Also breakfast was advertised as being available for charge, however, when arrived reception looked amazed & stated most people go out for breakfast. Lovely spa bath in room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Owner at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Yes you are right ! We are no longer Best Western as we feel there is no longer a need to belong to the Chain. We are very sorry that this was a disappointment to you however we purpose to keep the same top quality of service as previously. As there has also been an ownership change in the last few weeks, there are some changes which have taken place and we are now offering Continental Breakfast Baskets opposed to full cooked. Thanks for your review we appreciate your thoughts - Regards Gordon and Cheryle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#8 of 92 in Rotorua
468 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista Capri Motel

Address: 290 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista Capri Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located close to the city and thermal attractions. Our 17 ground floor units are self contained and thermally heated with free parking at your door. We have studios and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with BRAND NEW SUPER KING BEDS, Sky TV, plunger coffee and guest toiletries. All units are serviced daily and EVERY UNIT has a large self fill, Private SPA POOL for your enjoyment . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arista Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capri Court Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing