We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for your money”
Review of Arista Capri Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arista Capri Motel
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This town stinks, there’s no way of getting around it. The smell of sulfur is everywhere and depending on which way the wind blows it can pretty near knock you flat and if you think you’re going to become nose deaf you’re wrong you won’t.

We ended up staying here for a night and it was clean, fairly priced and big comfy beds. The water pressure in the shower/spa tub was very decent and the owner/manager lady was very helpful in terms of giving us advice on what to do and see in the limited time we had. Of course this was a Best Western so don’t look for opulence, but if you’re only requirement is a clean, warm, comfy room then you really can’t beat the price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramblinAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write your review. Well the smell is part of the cultural experience !!!!
Glad you had a comfortable stay and were able to see as much as possible in your short stay.
Glenn and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 550 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed there in Sept 2011. It was one of the best motels around. Both the room and the bathroom were clean and huge and there was a kitchen and dining table. Due to refurbishment the motel looked like new. Sharon the manageress was most helpful, guiding us to dine at one of the best restaurants in Rotorua and gave valuable suggestions about local tours. We have been to Rotorua many times and stayed at various hotels but this motel was the best we have stayed in. Very good for family with children and for long stay. There was a spa in the bathroom which was fun. Will definitely recommend our friends to stay there. Sharon mentioned that she can arrange for meals to be delivered to the motel. Useful for solo and business traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyL_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

So delighted that you had a fabulous stay, got to see all the sights, had great dining experiences and most of all splashed about in the big spa to your hearts content !! Thank you for taking the time to write this freeback, it is very important to us and we greatly appreciate it as it gives seeking holiday makers a better ability to make wise decisions when spending a night in Rotorua and not having to spend a fortune !! Thanks again - Glenn and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

It was nice to see this pleasant property had not jumped on the bandwagon & put their prices up during the Rugby World Cup like so many other NZ hotels had done.

Location is a short 15min walk into the heart if Rotorua. We had booked a one room unit which had a double bedroom & a king size single in the sitting room area. Good facilities with a private hit tub on the small back yard. We didn't get to use it as there's far too much to do in Rotirua especially during RWC2011 to be sitting in a hot tub in your hotel.

Owners are very friendly & helpful & would happily recommend this for a family or friends group staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingKIttyIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Great to hear you made the most of every moment while you were here in Rotorua during the RWC2011. It has been great to be apart of the buzz and excitement and to see flags flying everywhere we looked. Sorry you didn't get time to soak away and relax in the Hot Tub but , hey that gives you an excuse to come back at some 'quieter' moment of your life and have some R n R. Regards Glenn and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

A late booking, Sunday evening arrival - friendly welcome; clean; spacious; warm; comfortable room with everything you'd expect in a motel. When we next go back to Rotorua this will be the first place we'll check for availability.

The museum has just opened a new wing, well worth a visit - and be sure to take the guided tour included with the ticket, the friendly guide will tell you lots that isn't on the display panels.

Room Tip: Jasons web site does on-line bookings (sometimes with bargain discounts) with good descriptions of e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Viragored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Thanks for the tip on the Rotorua Meuseum - totally agree, went back for our 3rd visit recently !! Definately take the guide. So glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, you were a pleasure to host. It is a treat to have a hot spa before bed when you come away for a break. We do have wheelchair mobility units available also for those that need a wheel-in shower. Take care and see you again sometime when you are worn out and ready for a break!! Regards
Glenn and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

At arrival we were immediately upgraded to a larger unit with extra bedroom, which was of course a very nice gesture.
Rooms are very spacious, well away from the road - and well heated in winter ! - with nice little cooking corner, separate bathroom with shower and a spa bath at the back in the courtyard.
Good location, close to town as well as to Te Puia and - if needed - shopping plaza.
And very friendly and helpful owners.
We had a lovely stay and would most certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted that you had a warm and comfortable stay. It sure helps having a comfortable sleep so that you can get out and about to see the many places Rotorua has to offer, and you sure managed to keep yourselves busy !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I spent three weeks staying at Capri Court recently while on a work trip in Rotorua. It honestly became like a little home for me for the few weeks i was away. The rooms are so warm and cosy and you cannot beat a big spa bath at the end of a long day. The bathroom was huge and there was plenty of space in the unit to spread my life out. It was great having a seperate desk to work on at night and I loved having Sky movies although probably watched a few too many. Managers Sharon and Glenn were complete angels and even lent me an electric frying pan for my kitchen. Sharon and i ended up striking up a good friendship and she was so helpful and friendly. There is also Wifi which is crucial for me when chosing accomodation. I would thoroughly recomend Best Western Capri Court.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaJillings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you so much for taking time in your busy schedule to post your kind thoughts. We absolutely enjoyed hosting you as our guest which in turn became not 'guest' but 'friend'. All the very best with your future career. Kind Regards
Glenn and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Really great place to stay. We had an unexpected 2 night satay in Rotorua as our flights had been cancelled due to the snow in Christchurch. We walked in off the street with no prior booking and were lucky to get a 2 room unit. We were very impressed by the lovely units and helpful owners. The unit was newly decorated and very clean. We would definately recommend and would be happy to stay again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapriC, Manager at Arista Capri Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Thank you for taking a moment to write these kind words. It was especially great to be able to host a Christchurch family and give them the pleasure of a 'Solid Foundation' for a couple of nights. May all go well for your family this coming year and please return for some more RnR.
Glenn and Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
467 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista Capri Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista Capri Motel

Address: 290 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $98 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista Capri Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located close to the city and thermal attractions. Our 17 ground floor units are self contained and thermally heated with free parking at your door. We have studios and 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with BRAND NEW SUPER KING BEDS, Sky TV, plunger coffee and guest toiletries. All units are serviced daily and EVERY UNIT has a large self fill, Private SPA POOL for your enjoyment . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arista Capri Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capri Court Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing