We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place!”
Review of Fat Dog Cafe & Bar

Fat Dog Cafe & Bar
Ranked #18 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Rohnert Park, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A popular fun and funky place! I had fish n chips which were great. My husband had eggs benedict, also great. You order your food at the counter and they bring it to you. This wouldn't come under the heading of "fine dining" but we enjoyed it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twigaduma2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    598
    218
    101
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best burger ever!”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I'm going to be honest. This was one of the best burgers I've ever had so the rest was just not that important.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alenka Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotorua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bought grabone vouchers for an occasional breakfast treat”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Would have been gutted if paid full price. The big breakfast was not big. The bacon poor quality and my eggs were hard poached. The bread was a slab . Sorry guys would not recommend . Shame as previously a good place to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lwmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Expensive for okay food”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Popular place, quick service and friendly. However, we thought the food was overpriced and very average. Also had to sit out back in the marquee area which was not particularly nice.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Don't judge the exterior, taste the food!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

As an older couple, we wouldn't normally have eaten here but were taken by two younger friends. We had to wait about 1/2 hour for our food, but were warned that there would be a delay, as they were so busy. When it came, our meals were excellent. I had the pan fried fish, my wife the chicken satay salad. Both were excellent. The wine, by the glass, was both very good and cheap! The portions were a good size. Well worth a visit!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Dog Cafe & Bar also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Fat Dog Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing