We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of Fat Dog Cafe & Bar

Fat Dog Cafe & Bar
Ranked #20 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went there for breakfast over Labour Weekend and the food was great and service was awesome. Would recommend to all my friends to visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SanelleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    598
    218
    101
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We walked passed the Fat Dog on our first night but it was jam packed and we hadn't booked. The next day I called and booked a table for 11 about an hour before we intended to eat and it was reserved when we arrived. The chairs all have cute slogans or quotes on them and it is a nice, bright friendly place. The menu choice is amazing! We had a Vegan and Veggie with us and they had lots to choose from. Whilst the meat eaters were catered to with NZ lamb joints, burgers and steaks etc... The veggie even commented on not being used to having this much choice! All in all it was an excellent meal and we would all highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Gods food and atmosphere”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We thought this place had Good food, good atmosphere, good service, good value. It is right in the heart of all the shops so good locations as well. Big meals so bring you appetite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLH67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and cafe experience”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Went here for lunch. Huge range of choices written on the wall. Only thing is, didn't notice the specials on a smaller blackboard standing by the wall until we were leaving. We both had burgers - and they were MASSIVE! We had to deconstruct and remove some of the fillings before we could start eating. They were delicious. And we got some of their award winning caramel slice to takeaway. Expensive - but sinfully delicious. I would definitely recommend this cafe. But remember, it is a cafe, not a restaurant, so don't expect anything flash.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big and delicious”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Have been here before and it did not disappoint, the food was delicious. When we arrived the queue was out the door. But the service was good and didn't take too long. It can be quite noisy. But its worth it YUM

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebekaKelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Dog Cafe & Bar also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Fat Dog Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing