We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always spectacular”
Review of Fat Dog Cafe & Bar

Fat Dog Cafe & Bar
Ranked #18 of 223 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always spectacular”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

i visit Fat Dog every week (for the last 15 yrs) . The service is wonderful, James, Martin , Justin and all the gals are always lovely and friendly and helpful. The food is terrific and the portions ...well the dog is fat for a reason! Doggy bag anyone? Atmosphere is interesting and ecclectic,always something fun to watch - be it the lawyers from the Court across the way or the visitors form many other countries. Last, but by no means least- the prices are incredibly reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annsvolcanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    598
    218
    101
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“This Cafe Has The WOW Factor!!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We decided to try the Fat Dog Cafe for lunch recently, as a family of four. The blackboard menu was extensive, and well priced.

Our food arrived within 10 minutes of ordering (a big plus from us for that!), and the servings were generous, hot, and filling! Everyone was happy with their choice of meal too.

We didn't order any of their burger meals but we saw some being delivered to nearby tables and they were HUGE!

The iced coffees and iced chocolates come with mini cookies, and other yummy edible items, which was a real treat and a very nice touch.

From the excellent customer service to the presentation and quality of the food - Fat Dog gets a 10 out of 10 from us!

We would definitely recommend it to others (and already have!), and will be going back again when we are next in Rotorua.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Fat Dog”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have eaten at the Fat Dog on a few occasions in the past, but only for breakfast (which was always fantastic and great value - huge meals). So we thought we'd try it for dinner. We were all very disappointed!! We had lamb shanks (tough), pasta (too cheesy), nachos (too much carrot in the mince) and a caesar salad (not enough dressing). It was typically busy, which we thought was a good sign, but were very disappointed with our food. We would still recommend it for breakfast though!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food in a funky setting appealing to all ages”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Arrived late on Friday night and just got there in time for dinner. Ordered fajita salad and the cajun chicken burger - both yummy! Also went there for Sunday brunch, we got in early but by the time we left the place was packed! Ate eggs benedict with salmon (served on ciabatta bread) and baked beans on toast. Both came with hash browns and the beans appeared home made. We'll definitely be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Willieidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Seafood Chowder very dissapointing”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went to Fatdog in Rotorua I knew that it was quite popular however I was very dissapointed on the day when I ordered seafood chowder. It looked like it had been microwaved from a couple of days ago and the color was just dull and dreary like old gluggy soup. Im not sure how everyone else felt in the restaurant with their meals but mine was yuk! I wouldn't say don't go there to dine but just weray of the seafood chowder meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DazzaNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Dog Cafe & Bar also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Fat Dog Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing