We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why look anywhere else?”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Sunny Preston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Why look anywhere else?”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I don't often feel minded to write reviews but after a two night stay at the Arista I am bound to...
I'll keep this short- I doubt you'll ever stay in a place that has a friendlier or more helpful owner, or one that offers so much value either!
Mike is a mine of good advice and so enthusiastic that it is contagious, hah-hah! His accommodation had everything that I wanted...I recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi there, so much for your cool little review, we are glad you had a great time and we got you excited about Rotorua. We love this place so it makes it easy for us to tell guests all about it. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    183
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
400
257
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband, 4 year old son, and I just spent 3 nights at Arista and we absolutely loved it. We were kindly greeted by Mike upon arrival with a breakfast basket and were escorted to our room (#10). The room was nicely decorated, quiet, and very clean. The split level layout (beds upstairs, living room downstairs) was perfect for a family with young kids.

This hotel has everything you might need while away from home - kitchenette, spa tub, wifi, kids playground, washer/dryer (coins required), nearby shops and restaurants, and friendly staff. Mike, Anne Marie, and Shona always so sweet. Whether it was something needed for the room, directions, restaurant suggestions, or booking tours for us - they were always happy to help. I would highly recommend the Arista when visiting Rotorua!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are just happy you had a nice time in Rotorua. It's a great place to explore. Thank you also for your nice description and kind words on our rooms. These rooms are 62 square meters so they are massive. We think that makes good value. We are glad you stayed with us and thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights from 24th Nov to 27th Nov . We were greeted by Mike with a warm welcome . The room was spacious, with 2 levels . On the first level , there was a spa pool , a sofa , a dining table, a king bed and a TV. On the second level , there was another king bed , 4 more single beds and another TV . The washroom was on the first level . If we were on the second level , we had to climb down to the first level to use the washroom as there was only 1 toilet in the whole unit!(which was inconvenient) Nevertheless , we still enjoyed our stay !

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aaron011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi there, thanks so much for the nice review. We are glad you had a nice time at Arista. Yes there is one bath room down stairs with a toilet. This is how the place was build so we have no control over this. Our 3 bedroom apartment has a toilet up stairs and down stairs, this is a great option if you have a large family like yours. Thanks again for the time for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were recently in Rotorua for a family event and of course stayed at our favourite motel in Rotorua Arista. Just after arriving our teenagers who were staying in the upstairs bedroom discovered the television upstairs wasn't working. Annemarie was straight over to have a look but unfortunately it couldn't be fixed. Half an hour later Annemarie arrived at the door with a new 32cm flat screen television. We were just so impressed with this service nothing is ever any trouble here and we had happy teenagers.
As we are in Rotorua a lot for the mountain biking another wonderful service that has been installed at Arista is a bike wash. After a busy day out on the many tracks around Rotorua you can now wash your bikes down on the all weather concrete wash bay.
We really love staying at Arista its family friendly, mountain bike friendly, and the owners and staff are awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsmall64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi thanks very much for a lovely review. Yes you are right we have been very busy at Arista and built a bran new mountain bike hose down area. This is proving to be really popular especially for our Aussie guests that need to return to Australia with spotless bikes. Thanks for mentioning the TV we have gone through all our family units and put new 32" TV upstairs as well with sky and free view. We recon that's pretty good. It's can make life a little easier for mum and dad that has a couple of kids. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We booked at this motel for four people for two nights and we were not disappointed. The room we stayed in was spacious and very clean. We had our own private outdoor spa which was divine. We had a lovely complimentary breakfast which was more than adequate. The beds were lovely and totally enjoyed my sleep. This place is great to stay in weather its a couple, small family or a large group as our room could fit seven people easy.
The owner and his dog were lovely, easy to talk to friendly and the place just had a nice family atmosphere to it. If you are in Rotorua for a weekend I would totally recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savage1674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks very much for your lovely review. Our rooms are certainly well suited for 4 people. Ted our dog is well loved around the motel and we certainly have tried to create that family atmosphere around the property. In fact quite often the guests will meet and greet each and leave as friends. That's the beauty of the lay of the motel and the atmosphere we try and create. Thank you very much once again for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. The room was spacious, clean and had all facilities for an excellent stay, including lovely private spa pool. The breakfast baskets provided in our room were more than adequate with top ups provided on request if required. Mike the owner is more than "an ok guy". Nothing was too much trouble for him, he was helpful and friendly. Shona is also delightful and helpful. Best wifi since we arrived in NZ and it's free and unlimited. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lauraav6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a review on Arista. We are glad we meet your expectations and that we were able to show you a great time. The WIFI we have invested a lot of time and resources into and we are one of a couple of motels on fibre optic. Its really going well. We think this is a important service to have right for skyping or making VoIP calls back to your home country. Thanks again and we hope you have many happy memories of New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were greeted by Mike with a warm smile and a welcoming manner. No reservation, he was more than accomodatiing. Top notch decore with black leather furniture, a spa bath in a private courtyard off your room. Comfortable beds and very very clean. I can not fault this place and would recommend this to anyone visiting Rotorua. Forget these big hotels. Enjoy a bit of Kiwi hospitality with Mike and his family

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi Debbie, thanks for your awesome review. And thank you for driving of the street and choosing us to stay with. I,m just happy you guys had a great stay and recharge the batteries really for your busy life style in Auckland. I do hope you come again Debbie. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Property: Arista of Rotorua
Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing