We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice stay.”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Pretty nice stay.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The service is great, always happy to help you and they know heaps about the area. The apartment was quite big with heaps of beds. They have heaps of TV channels and free wifi as well. Each apartment comes with a private hot tub but I must say the hot tub was a bit disappointing because it looked old, cracked and mouldy and not so clean.

For the rest though, quite a nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZooGirl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review us. We are quite happy with the TV upgrade we did and yes we have a good selection of Free view channels and 7 sky channels. We have just gone on to Fibre optic – WIFI so the speed is really fast. The spa pools are on the list for upgrading but I disagree that the spas are mouldy and dirty. Yes there are some cracks here and there but overall these spas are massive, and so popular – the way I describe these is they are an oldy but a goodie. But yes they do need a refresh. As mentioned we are getting there. Hopefully these we will done next time to return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    187
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
410
260
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

You don't need to expend much money to feel yourself like a king when visiting Rotorua, NZ...the best place all over our trip to Zealand...and the friendly and helpful owners, Mike and Annemarie, will assure you really enjoy Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianoNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Adriano .. thanks heaps for your review. Everybody deserves to feel like a king for a day once and a while. Glad we could make it happen for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had seen photos of the rooms but were still astounded by how big this place is in person! The kids were delighted that they had a whole level to themselves and a choice of beds. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfy. Rotorua is a smelly place but inside the room you honestly couldn't smell it at all. The coin-operated washing machine and dryer were very convenient, especially with a family. The breakfast basket was a nice addition: the only problem was that when we arrived, the milk was in the basket and only slightly cold (rather than in the fridge), so we didn't feel we should use that, and the bread's date was a week prior to us arriving. Even though that would have been the date it was baked and not the use by date, it still would have been nicer to have fresher bread. The wifi wouldn't work in our room the day we arrived, but we mentioned this, and things were fixed the following morning. The lady in reception was extremely nice and very helpful. Free dvd hire was a lovely touch and much appreciated. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeJ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review. Our units are the largest of their kind in Rotorua providing plenty of space for the whole family. The mezzanine floors in the Family units provide great space for the kids to hang out and give Mum and Dad some down time to relax.

I glad you made the use of our DVD library and that your family enjoyed their stay.
Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to your stay on your next visit to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Located at the corner of the street. It have provided the family a lot of fun which the 2 level apartment which the children have great fun on the stair. The jaccuzi provided have added the fun to the family. Furthurmore , the available of DVD have added some color in the evening .. watching movie together in evening.

It will rated the hotel to be fantastic. But will recommended night lights to be available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Edward,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and that you made the most of our DVD Library for some family time in the evening.
Thank you for your recommendation, we will look into this.
We hope to have your family come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at arista, lovely service, comfortable and clean room with a comfy bed. Added bonus having a spa in your own courtyard, really nice to wind down after a long day, and fantastic pressure in the shower. Lots of space. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you made the most of the spa, we think they are great too and agree it’s a great way to wind down after a busy day seeing the sights of Rotorua.
Please come and stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Arista this past weekend (22nd Sept) and were extremely happy with our choice of accommodation. Not only did they place us in a large mezzanine split level room when we advised we had a baby and toddler, Lauren on Reception was very helpful when we had a flat battery in our car and had run out of baby food. Went out of her way to help us so we would highly recommend this accommodation.
Accommodation itself was well laid out, heaps of space and very clean and tidy. Parking space right outside front door, which helped when travelling with young children. We would definitely stay there again and recommend Arista to anyone. The spa was awesome....

Room Tip: when we booked we advised we were travelling with a baby, hoping for a room where baby would get som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Kirsty,

Thank you for your review. I was pleased I was able to help you out with your flat battery, it was no trouble, just happy to make sure you could get the much needed baby food.
I’m glad you like the spa and the space the room had to offer. I hope having unit 4 with the floor all the way through helped everyone to get a good night sleep with your little ones.
We look forward to your next visit, hopefully for a longer when everyone is feeling well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I , along with our son recently spent 2 nights at the Arista. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. Mike the co-owner was very nice and helpful ,giving us information about what to do in the area. We had travelled from the USA and Mike really helped up maximize our time while we were in Rotarua. I hope to get back to beautiful New Zealand !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foof5787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi There,

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to assist our guests choose activities and provide local advice to maximize time spent out and about exploring the sights of Rotorua.
Please come and stay again on your next New Zealand adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Property: Arista of Rotorua
Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing