We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good motel and great owners”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #3 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Lechlade
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good motel and great owners”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in early May. The rooms are big and spotlessly clean. There was on outside spa tub but we didn't use it as it looked a bit tired under a plastic corrugated roof... But the bedroom, bathroom, sitting area and kitchenette were excellent.
Mike and Annemarie are the owners and they are wonderfully friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend the Arista in Rotorua if you are that way for a few days.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MandGLechlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thankyou so much for your lovely reveiw! We are two weeks away from finishing a major $250,000 refurbishment, our last bathroom was finished today and all kitchens will be brand new in two weeks time. We still have big plans for our spa areas, starting with a repaint next month.. we just could not do it all at once! We are so glad you enjoyed our hospitality.. we are here to help and we are passionate about Rotorua!

kind regards,
Annemarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    187
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
410
260
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2012 and was blown away by the rooms. This was the most enormous motel room, featuring very generous bathroom, massive loft space with a king bed, and separate kitchenette/living area, all thermally heated 24 hours so there was always a warm, toasty place to come home to.

I loved the private spa that has its own little enclosed patio. I particularly liked all the complimentary bath products - I wondered what the lovely smell was permeating the place and discovered the manuka honey bath gel - froths up ALOT in the spa - be warned!

Mike was a pleasure to deal with, he was very friendly and very keen to help maximise my time in Rotorua, and offered discount vouchers for attractions too.

I liked the size and location of this motel - not too big (much better than a chain motel) and located on Fenton St, which is a main road in Rotorua, containing restaurants, supermarkets, and an easy gateway to many attractions. Rotorua itself isn't huge, so getting around is easy.

There are countless motels in Rotorua, but I believe this place is a cut above, for the discerning traveller who isn't interested in staying in generic, bland motel chains. I was very happy with my stay here, I would not hesitate to recommend it to others, and intend to bring my partner back with me next time so we can both enjoy it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkonin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your awesome reveiw, you put a lot of thought into what you wrote and we really appreciate it. For us being in this business is about people and we love it when people have a great time in Rotorua!
I'm glad you enjoyed the space of our rooms.. if it was a new build it would have twice as many units at half the size. That's one of the things that we think is really unique about our property.
We are glad you enjoyed our bath products, we are trying as much as possible to go as 'eco' as we can and we put a lot of thought into the products we supply.

Thanks again, you really made our day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed for 1 night last month as a family treat. We were so impresed we came back for 5 nights this time. Fantastic room heaps of space, clean and neat, kids loved the playground spent hours on it. Owners Mike and Annemarie are super friendly so keen to help anyway they can. In all my years of travling the world this is by far the best place iv stayed. Highly recomend it to any one fantastic for familys.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hi Zac!

Thanks for your aweome review, it was really nice getting to know your family and good luck with your new house!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed this weekend as ran in the Rotorua Marathon (quarter!) with 3 girlfriends, we loved the space as it felt like we weren't falling over each other, the owners were so accomodating and keen to give advice for places to eat. Great price point and would definitly recommend to families :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Hi!

Thankyou for your neat reveiw! you inspired me a lot to get running again... I'm now up to 9km.
We are so glad you enjoyed the space of our rooms, and the spa after a tough morning pounding around the lake! We are nearly finished our renovation, so next time hopefully we will be even better. Hope to see you ladies again next year; running with you instead of just talking about it!

Kind regards,
Annemarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Very accommodating especially when you have children. Very spacious and clean. Would definitely stay again and would recommend. Awesome friendly service. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubjudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We do focus a lot on being on a family motel. We have three young kids ourselves. One thing we said to ourselves when we brought this business is that we would build our kids and our guest’s kids a decent playground. What we did not expect was how popular this would become. Many families are enjoying staying here and that’s really important to us. Thanks again for your review. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed recently with our family of 4. Price was competitive and size of accommodations exceeded our expectations. Situated nicely away from noisey central city but close enough to main thoroughfares to make getting around easy. Mike and Annemarie were great to deal with on the phone and in person and provided useful local knowledge about family activities in the area. The family breakfast pack we had lasted us the 3 mornings of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Hi Andrea,
Thanks very much for your review, we really enjoy having families like yours stay here with us. Even for families that have young ones, Rotorua still has a lot to offer. Interesting that you have mention our breakfast pack, no one has done that before. We personally reckon that our $20.00 breakfast pack or breakfast pack thrown into the accommodation deal is a pretty good value. Thanks again Andrea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

First let me apologize for the late review. We stayed at Arista March 24 and 25 with Canadian friends that were in visiting. We thought the hotel was fantastic! Mike and Annemarie are a wealth of knowledge about the area. They were very attentive to our needs. Anything we asked for Mike was on top of it. I think that other guests who stay there and have complaints should take another look. The hotel is being totally redone and it will be outstanding once finished! We will be having more Canadian friends and family come to visit and will absolutely stay there. Thank you Mike and Annemarie you are the most outstanding hosts we have ever encountered!

Yvette and Dale Harlos (Auckland)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djay1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Hi Yvette, yes I do remember you. Thanks so much for your review. You really do need to come back; you will see some cool changes in the short time since your stay. No doubt we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Property: Arista of Rotorua
Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing