We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, great price”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, great price”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I've stayed in motels all over New Zealand while traveling with my kids, and the Arista is one of the better ones, in terms of interior finish. The owners have talked about a major investment in making improvements to the property and it really shows. Our room was quite well appointed. One small issue for people traveling with families: It's not entirely clear from the description (I think I may have booked the room on Wotif) but the sleeping areas aren't enclosed. Our unit had a queen bed downstairs and several beds upstairs, but the second floor was really a loft or balcony overlooking the main floor. This wasn't a huge problem, but if we had wanted to stay up watching a movie while our kids slept, for example, it would have been difficult. Otherwise it was a great motel. The owners were friendly and very helpful with suggestions of things to do. The jacuzzi on the back porch was a nice touch -- the kids enjoyed it a great deal. The location is ho-hum -- Fenton Street is a fairly bland row of motels -- but there really aren't any great locations in Rotorua city. Great value for the price.

As a previous reviewer mentioned, there is sometimes noise from other guests. Some of the rooms have enough beds that they attract groups of enthusiastically partying university students, which isn't a great mix with families with young children. We had that problem on our visit, which I solved by banging on our neighbors' door, looking extremely pissed off, and reading them the riot act. The owners emphasized that they really do want to know about any problems and will shut down any loud activities going on after hours. It seems that they want to keep it a family-friendly place (which makes sense as they also have little kids).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWfromIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Hi there thanks for your review. We enjoyed your company and chats. Yes most the rooms are mezzanine floors except three of our rooms of which has the top floor running right through giving it a whooping 92m². There are no doors between the up and down stairs but these rooms are starting to become very popular in terms of small groups travelling together and regular returning guests. I guess the price per head makes it a great deal and all our family rooms sell at a 4 person rate.

As mention in other answers we do not tolerate nonsense here and if there is we need to know about it. The last thing we want is bad review because of this. As you mentioned we are primarily a family motel. By the way I was impressed with the way you handled it. You’re a big man so I think I would be quite as well.

I think our motel is in a great location we are very close to the Redwoods for mountain biking, 1km to town, the other way 1km from TePuia. I don’t think there is any accommodation that can claim to be close to all attractions as the attractions are scattered all around the town and district. It helps to have a car here.

Thanks again for the review and thanks for coming to New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    184
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
258
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed at Arista Rotorua with my mum and two friends. I loved the double storey room we were in... 3 single beds upstairs, and a huge king bed downstairs. We enjoyed our own private spa on our back deck... a great addition to our stay. The upstairs room is great for those who can handle stairs... I say this because my elderly mum found this slightly hard to access, but managed on the night as we wanted to provide my friends (a couple) with the bed set up downstairs. The owners were both very friendly and accommodating, and we would be very happy to return here on our future trips to Rotorua! Very flash... and very happy travellers! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexsta66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Hi there thanks very much for your review. Yes the rooms are very large and unique. Yes there are stairs in all our rooms and if there are elderly persons with hip or knee issues then it probably is best that they sleep down stairs where all the amenities are. Half of the family rooms have spilt kings down stairs so these can be split if required. It just depends on the sleeping combinations.

The room that you slept in has a new kitchen now and the bathroom has been revamped so you will enjoy it even better next time.

Thanks again for the nice review, we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Annemarie and Mike will restore your belief in "good old fashioned service", they were genuinely loving what they did and this reflected in their whole approach. After looking at many of the larger hotels I chose ARISTA for its boutique style and homely feel, it offered fantastic value for money - loft bedroom with new king bed, large living area AND spa bath. The special treats in Manuka Honey Body Products added that little touch of luxury. I stayed an extra night, then tried to return for an additional night BUT unfortunately fully booked. They offered to assist me with locating another hotel but Id only intended to extend my Rotorua stay if they had an available room - what more can I say?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatDPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Wow, thanks for that lovely review, you were awesome. Yes we had a very busy April and we were sorry we were not able to take you back for that extra night. We do focus on that old fashion hospitality of which we contribute a lot to our unique backgrounds and two great sets of parents. The new king beds in the studios are proving a hit, so we are happy with that. I hope all is well in Perth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great value for money. Fantastic hosts. Spa bath definately a bonus at the end of the day. Loved the loft room, great size for families. Nothing to much trouble. Mike even drove us to the bus terminal when my children and I were due to return to Auckland. Would definately stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Hi Rebecca, Thanks for taking the time to write the review. I guess that’s that advantage of staying with Moteliers that own and operate the business with a hands on approach. We can make decisions on the spot. We are always happy to go that extra mile to ensure you leave relax. I hope you had a great flight back to Aussie and the kids are well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nth Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We received a friendly welcome and were very pleased with our unit, which had been upgraded to a family size. The bed was new and it was apparent that much of the unit was in the process of being updated. It was spotless, and extremely good value for money. The spa pool was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet it was away in a corner from the main Fenton St which is a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Thanks for your nice review, yes believe it or not today 29/4/2012 is our 1st year anniversary of owning this business and yes this has been one mammoth project that we are very happy with the progress. We are now on to our revamp on our 12th bathroom tomorrow and we have fixed a lot of things here that needed to be addressed. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Mike and Annemarie were awesome friendly hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The units have been beautifully upgraded and the tariff was very reasonable for the high standard of rooms I thought. Coach Sterling, Waihi College Junior boys basketball team.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Hi there Coach, thanks for the nice review.

We have become very popular with large groups due to our unique bedding configuration and spacious family rooms. And we certainly do our best to have some fun and make our group stayers a good one.

Your boys and support crew were just great and excellent ambassadors to Waihi College, thanks again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Ann Marie and Mike were very welcoming and extremely helpful with their advice. We stayed for 3 nights and were very happy with our room - complete with loft bedroom and private spa pool. The rooms were serviced daily to a very high standard. The kitchens and bathrooms are a little dated but practical and very clean and tidy. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Hi there Neil, Thanks for your quick review and I hope you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand. We need more Aussies like you to learn about the fun happening in Rotorua and to come over the ditch.

Our staff has developed a good routine now in daily services and guests are happy with this. When you come back you will have a 32” TV up stairs and down, in the studios, a reconditioned bathroom and new kitchen. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
821 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Property: Arista of Rotorua
Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing