We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, very helpful hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #3 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, very helpful hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

The unit we had was very large, with the beds on the mezzanine floor. The hot tub ( heated from underground steam) was a great bonus. The hosts were very helpful, with good advice on the local attracrions. The overall impression was that Arista is a lot better than many of the motels we have stayed in during our tour of NZ.

Room Tip: Check whether you are getting a unit with mezzanine floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi John, Thanks for choosing us as your accommodation provider. We love the Aussies coming to stay, we have just been to Gold coast ourselves with our young kids and had a great time. We do our best to ensure you get the best information possible and like it better when guests arrive without pre-booking as it gives us a clean slate to work from when planning your stay. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    179
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
393
253
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

An excellent stay with an excellent couple as hosts nothing was too much trouble made the stay very relaxing thankyou very much

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Hi Clive, Thanks very much for your kind words, much appreciate it. We look forward to you coming over from the Naki again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a very good experience for the most part. Motel owners Ann Marie and Mike were just superb. First off, we arrived on the day of the Super Bowl, and inquired ahead of time whether their cable will broadcast it. Although it did not, they switched on ESPN just for us, so we were able to watch the game when we arrived and had ESPN for the entire stay. Ann Marie has the best tips for all the activities in Rotorua and we really enjoyed the rafting trip she booked for us.

Mike & Ann Marie just bought the Arista less than a year ago and are in the process of making basic renovations unit-by-unit, so it will be a while before the place look the way they want, and whether your stay matches what you read in the other reviews will depend on which unit you stay in. The unit we stayed in was very spacious with high ceilings. The living room and living room furniture very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit worn and run down as were the kitchenette and kitchen supplies. But the kitchen supplies were adequate. The bedroom was upstairs. Since the unit did not have air conditioning, the upstairs get quite stuffy at night even with the window open (which air ventilation is covered by curtains and you want the curtains closed at night for privacy). Also the bed mattress quality was not very good and would be good if replaced. There is a semi-outdoor spa in the back of the unit, which also is a bit worn. But the worn look should be expected as Rotorua is a volcanic center; it's a humid place, and we at least did not find the sulfur smell to be as unbearable as others said. At the Arista, most of the time we didn't even notice it. Also the Arista is very close to town center and supermarkets. Great location.

Overall, this place can use some immediate improvements. The bathroom hair dryer is on life support and needs to be replaced. I had my Muji mini-travel hair dryer with me that used that, and it worked better. The ceiling of the spa also looks to old and rusty, and would look much better if replaced with materials not so easily affected by humidity. The fan in the living room should be moved upstairs to the bedroom.

The biggest issue of the Arista is their service staff, who are somewhat inattentive. The first time after the came, they left behind a wiping cloth in the kitchen sink. I also found hair on the bathroom floor. I couldn't tell if those were my own hair or hair left from the cleaning crew's mop (I have black hair, same as other Asian guests and local Maori service staff). I told Mike, who came and cleaned it right away. He told me that they do not do a full clean for guests on short stay. This is fine and is the policy at some other inns and motels in NZ. But it would be better if the guests know that before hand or if the staff just vacuum the bathroom floor, so guests won't be alarmed. The second day the staff forgot to give us new bath towels. There are cobwebs hanging from the ceiling of the spa, which were there when we arrived and was still there when we left. This could easily be cleaned out. We didn't have need to use the spa but if we did, the cobwebs were enough to kill off the desire.

I want to emphasize that cleanliness is not a issue here. The kitchenette was also spotless. Everything is fine. It's just that the staff can do a better job not leaving behind a bad impression that may cause guests to wonder if the place is really cleaned.

For the price, this place is a very good deal. Again, Mike and Ann Marie are super accommodating hosts and they will take care of any of your needs. I'd recommend it for families and small groups coming to Rotorua for a short stay and fun activities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Hi there, thanks for your detailed review. I will attempt to cover the points you have mentioned.

We have 7 sky channels that are fixed. I was happy to organize a change of these channels to cater for ESPN for your short stay here. We will be able to change back in a months’ time to the usual Sports 2 channel, but we are glad you enjoyed the super bowl final back home shortly after you arrived here.

After reading the review I checked the mattress you mentioned and this was actually a new mattress – (not base), we put in 8 months ago, thank you for the comments and we will monitor any further comments from that room.

Yes the bathrooms are certainly in need of some TLC. And we have finished our second one this week. New taps are currently going into all the bath rooms and should be finished next week. We have actually worked very hard in improving the property so far and you would be surprised how much we have achieved in the short time we have been here. We plan to do a bathroom a week and it will take about 3 months.

Our rooms are serviced every day so this means rubbish cleaned, beds made, bathrooms wiped out and top ups in tea / coffee etc. Yes for a four star motel this is the normal procedure in New Zealand. If people stay longer then we certainly do full cleans arranged with the guest. When the hair was mentioned I raced over with the vacuum cleaner to suck up the 4 or 5 strings of hair, at the time I did glance at the bathroom to ensure it was dry and had been wipped down and rubbish collected and it all had been done. I’m not aware of an issue of my staff hair falling out at work, if there was we would see hair on the white sheets and towels that we handle every day. So that’s a tricky one given services are done in the morning and it was getting late when you phoned and your hair was similar. But I’m always happy to attend to an issue our guests are not happy with. However I will be still having a chat to our staff. On a whole we have a pretty good team at Arista and they work very hard.

At Arista we are a four star accommodation motel in a great location with a fair room rate. If guests are used to in staying five star accommodations with brand new amenities, air con and full cleans every day then we are probably not the right place for you. I guess our point of difference is size of the rooms, great location and excellent interaction with the owners of establishment (us)at a good price. We also have excellent knowledge on tourism and also happy to personally assist planning your time here, most of all fun – we like to have fun here at Arista.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We are organising our wedding in Taupo and thought we would pop through to Rotorua as my fiance is from central NSW Australia, we thought the place was wonderul, Mike the owner was more than helpful and pleasent. Would recommend the Arista. As i waited in reception a customer called to book. The owner said he was booked out but was more than happy to help them find somewhere else to stay,( now thats customer service). All i can say we had really nice stay and would stay again 2 thumbs up for the Arista.

Room Tip: Our room was very private and had a great outdoor spa Number 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Hi Tania, Thanks very much for your lovely review. You were great! We love it when x kiwis come back home and choose to stay with us and tell us all about their adventures. Yes if people phone here and we are full, we are always happy to help them find accommodation. There are a lot of options in Rotorua and it can be confusing. Good luck with your wedding plans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed in this motel with friends visiting from Australia. Great location with big rooms which can sleep 6 adults. Very well maintained despite being a lil old. Hosts are friendly with very cute kids. Have a spa pool which we never have the chance to use. Will be better if there r doors to separate the room upstairs. Better privacy. But a great motel for value :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrynsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thanks for writing the review, yes our rooms are massive. Some of these are 95m² so its certainly ideal for groups passing through town. So it does make it a well priced stay per head. Yes the tubs will be still here when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Good motel and the manager, Quick, nice person, Good location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for short but sweet review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Good motel and the manager, Anmarrie is a fantastic person. She helped us with booking our activities, when we lost room keys, etc...
Good location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EFirmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for your review. We thoroughly enjoy assisting our guests to ensure they have the best stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Property: Arista of Rotorua
Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arista of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing