We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want space, then this is the place”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

New owners are making a go of what used to be the old Cedar Court motel.

They've done quite a bit of refurbishment, but underneath, there's a taint of the old shabbiness that will be hard to erase. You'll find this in the spa pools and the bathrooms.

That said - at least you do get a private spa pool.

But the best thing about this place is the space. If you're in a big group, you'll find a reasonably priced unit where you will never feel cramped.

You'll get basic kitchen facilities, plenty of sofa and chair space and a good assortment of beds.

It's clean, and you can see the effort in tarting the place up.

I think quite a bit more is needed to take this place to the level the owners are aiming for, but a good option for Rotorua.

Room Tip: check out the bedding configuration - there are several good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thanks very much for the review. When we brought the business back in May 11 and Cedar Lodge Motel add been lacking a lot love for many years from various past owners. In the short time that we have had the business we have overhauled the business function, gardens, bedding, furniture, built a playground just to name a few. Plus renamed and built a new extremely helpful website for the guests. It just was not possible to do the entire property in 8 months but we are getting there.
You will be pleased to know that we are about to start on stage three which is over hauling the kitchens, bathrooms and spa rooms including new tap wear and grouting. We anticipate doing about 2 units a month throughout the year when it starts to get quiet.
A big part of why people are returning to us is the service and the fun people are having here. We certainly have never pushed or pretended that we are a five star motel but we certainly give guests a five star genuine kiwi service!
Call in again while in Rotorua and check us out in a few months’ time. I’m sure you will be impressed with our plans. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 898 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at the Arista for two nights while competing in a triathlon in mid-December. The hosts were both helpful and friendly. We stayed in unit 10 and the entire unit was spotless. Wifi was great, first 50MB free. The design of the units with the bedroom in an upstairs mezzanine and the outdoor spa bath works well. We had stayed here before when it was Cedar Lodge and the service has improved greatly. The redecorated rooms also look great. Will definitely stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Yes we both admired your fitness levels and keenness to see our country side. We have just replaced our old wireless system with Zenbu. This is one of the upcoming wireless solutions that is starting to spread through New Zealand and becoming a main player. Part of the thing we do here at Arista is go out of our way to help so if we see athletics shoes outside wet. We will just pick these up place these on to the thermal pipes for quick drying. Customers that have bulky woolen jerseys or jackets not made for the dryer are also welcome to hang above the thermal pipes. It’s just the service we do here. We can’t wait for you guys to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Arista was my "home" for six days in November 2011 and I enjoyed the stay very much. The Apartments are nicely renovated and Annemarie and Mike are eager to help in any way possible that the stay is just a great experience for their guests - in my case that work perfectly :).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjoge, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to reveiw us Norbert, we certainly really enjoyed your company and showing you the place we love! hope to see you back in NZ again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights in early Dec 2011. I booked it based solely on TripAdvisor ranking it #5 of 106 hotels in Rotorua (early December 2011). How misleading.

I understand there is change underway due to a change of ownership, but my stay in room 10 was extremely disappointing. The living room had been renovated with new carpets and furniture, but the kitchen and bedroom were original. Unfortunately the complementary milk was off (but still in date), and the wireless didn't work (although I was told by the owners that it had only been installed two days earlier and was having teething issues).

The bathroom was disgraceful. There was a large amount of mould in the shower grouting, a worn and dirty curtain, random long dark hairs (I've got short hair), used soap in the holder (a different colour to the complementary soap), and a distinct feeling of soap scum on the floor when barefoot. And then the fittings. I'm not sure if there's something about the sulphurous conditions in Rotorua, but the chrome shower head and mixer taps were either covered in black (something like mould), or worn stripped down to brass. Unacceptable. See photos.

In addition, it was clear no one entered my room during the day to clean. On my return at the end of the day, there were still used towels on the floor, rubbish in the bin, and the bed was unmade. I had to return to the front desk to seek replacement coffee and shampoo (I purchased my own milk).

I can't understand how this property can justify a top ten rating.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sterling481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjoge, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to reveiw us. I am so sorry you had such an awful stay with such a caconophy of errors, we are terribly embarassed. To begin, I'm sorry about the Milk, if we had been told it would have been rectified imeadiately.
As for the bathroom and kitchen, we have been here 8 months and have spent 100k on this property to date. As of next year, each kitchen and bathroom will be replaced, we just could not do everything at onece! As for our cleanliness, this is the first reveiw that we have had that has not got either 9 or 10/10 for cleanliness, All stainless steel in Rotorua, goes black with the sulphur, they are worn down to the brass in some spots because of the constant cleaning.

I am sorry about the lack of service our staff will be spoken to.

In response, all of our trip advisor reveiws are absolutely genuine, it would have been nice to have been told of your unhappiness during your stay, or on check out, we could of done many things in an attempt, to rectify this for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Our stay at Arista of Rotorua was excellent. From the minute we arrived Michael went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. He was incredibly helpful in providing us with ideas on how to spend our limited time in Rotorua. We spent two nights in a family room: 2 levels with a double bed downstairs and 5 single beds upstairs. More than enough room for my dad, sister, and I. There is a small kitchen area and a hot tub on the enclosed patio. The property is conveniently located (we had a car), clean, and well maintained. I understand it was recently purchased and you can tell Michael and his wife have put the time and energy into making this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alys_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjoge, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2011

Thankyou so much! we enjoyed having you stay and are really glad you girls got out with your Dad and had fun, that is what we are all about! Thankyou so much for taking the time to reveiw us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Very nice property with $90,000 in renos done since Annemarie and her hubbie took over. WiFi needs improve me which I understand is forthcoming. No restaurants nearby so a car is essential. Having said that Annemarie was kind enough to drive me downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danjoge, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Thanks so much for your reveiw.... for possible guests, We are exactly 1.1km from town and 1.6kms from the lake front. We are happy to drive guests around, and we even rent one of our vehicles from time to time. We have just upgraded our WIFI and we now have one of the best WIFI services in Rotorua with speeds of around 15 per second as opposed to 7. Hope you had a great time tramping around Waikeremoana! It was lovely to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

From the warm reception Annemarie gave us down the last gurgle of hot water in the hot tub, this was a great place to stay! It's clear Mike and Annemarie have put a lot of work, money and time into turning the Arista into something better than it used to be (it has a different name now than when they bought it, which probably a good move on their part because from what they told me it was a bit of a dump when they took it over--and that is definitely not the case anymore). Our room was more of a two-story townhouse with the bed up a flight of stairs in an open second-level area that made this the most unique of all the 10 hotels we stayed in during our 2 week trip). The covered and mostly private patio with hot tub was very nice to relax in after a long day. In fact I can't find one negative thing to say about the rooms! The hotel itself is more towards the end of town on the main road, so it's not necessarily walking distance unless you fancy a really good walk. Ample off-street parking. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrottingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thanks very much for your review. Yes we have put a lot of effort into bringing it up to the standard it is today. Annemarie and I are both project people and have some great plans to doing up the bath rooms and replacing the kitchenettes thus taking it to that next level. We are working hard but having lots of fun. And when we receive great review like yours, it makes it all worth it. Thanks again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
455 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $123 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing