We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do for anyone wanting to try rafting.”

River Rats Raft & Kayak
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.98*
and up
Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua
More Info
$105.88*
and up
Rangitaiki River White Water Rafting from Rotorua
More Info
$105.88*
and up
Rangitaiki River White Water Scenic Rafting from Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River Rats have been offering quality adventures for over 35 years. There’s something for everyone, from a gentle grade 2 scenic raft trip suitable for participants as young as 5 years old, through to full on grade 5 action featuring the world's highest commercially rafted waterfall. Kayaking is available as freedom hire or a guided tour. Paddle the local lakes to a secluded beach or enjoy a hot water swim only accessible by boat.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must do for anyone wanting to try rafting.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I have done a few of these rafting experiences over the last few years but his one takes the cake. Biggest waterfall i have ever been over and it was awesome!! Really great staff, very informative. They make u feel safe even when slightly out of your comfort zone. I cant recommend this enough. Do it!!!

Helpful?
Thank evangking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    460
    36
    5
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Highly recommend this. The staff of this operation are fun and very tolerant (especially of those who are not so brave). This was heaps of fun and absolutely loved it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet as!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I had a great time! We did the tour that included the big drop and i was super nervous considering i'm a bit of a chicken but the instructor, Gordie (Sweet as!!), made everyone feel comfortable and confident. It was a great first water rafting experience and it made me want to do rafting again in the future.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An afternoon that flowed!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We originally booked the grade 3/4 white-water rafting, but ended up on the grade 5 Kaituna River, Rotorua. Had an amazing afternoon, Justin, our guide, was full of support, energy and enthusiasm, reasuring us with clear direction and safety guidelines. Even our 13 year old son was able to complete the whole experience.
Fantastic memories and photos from the river bank to take home with us. A definite for anyone who enjoys high-active adventure.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“AWESOME FUN”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

we just came back from this awesome adventure. this is EXTREME white-water rafting. My wife and I along with some other friends went and tried it just before coming back from Rotorua. None of us had prior experience, but the professional instructors made it look so easy.
for the price we paid (99NZD) it was a great 2:30 hours of fun.

at one point my wife actually fell out of the boat!!!!!!! but we took her out of the water and into the boat in a minute. Weird part is, she really enjoyed that part!!!!!!!

if you are going to Rotorua or central NZ north Island, YOU HAVE TO DO IT :))

best fun ever!!!!!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehsan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Rats Raft & Kayak also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
 

Been to River Rats Raft & Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing