We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #52 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed one night at Quest Rotorua and were happy with our stay.

Our check in was friendly and quick, and they were happy to suggest where to go and what to see.

The rooms were very modern and slick, with great decor, and a fantastic designer bedroom. Plasma TV, and heated bed blankets were also great.

There was a very small area for toaster, kettle and microwave.

There was a lovely heated swimming pool and spa area.

Its about 4 mins drive from the centre, but there was plenty of parking in town so we did not mind this.

We paid 115 nz dollars on wotif for the accomodation.

Rotorua is a pretty village, very well manicured and clean, with lovely gardens, highstreet and historic buildings.

It does smell quite bad, due to the thermal activity, not much you can do about this!

There were many cheaper motels along Fenton Street towards Quest that looked very well kept and presented for 'motels' and i would be tempted to try these next time, though we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 169 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

This place was OK, but I wasn't impressed. It's supposed to be serviced apartments, but it's really just a re-decorated motel. Just putting in a microwave oven and a mini-fridge doesn't make it an apartment. The lobby is that of a motel, certainly not anything grand. The color scheme of the room was not attractive. There were gray tiles in the entry way, and then brown carpet in the rest of the room. In the bathroom, the textures and design just didn't go together well. They should have had a professional designer plan the colors to be used in the rooms. The king bed was just two twin beds pushed together. I asked for a quiet room and got one facing the street. Cheap single-pane glass was used in the balcony door, when dual pane would be called for. There's a big screen TV in the room, but only a few channels. After 8pm, reception closes down and you can't use the internet in the lobby area. The bed was very comfortable. The energy saving light bulbs in the room were very dim. It's not a bad place, but I would try elsewhere next time. By the way, the construction work is all done, according to the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

The hotel website did not mention that this is still a construction site. There were builders and the sounds of construction throughout the day, dust sheets in the corridors and open paint tins.

The room itself was of a good standard, the 'kitchen' was a fridge and microwave, no sink or dishwasher to do dishes.

The cleaning staff got my disabled son's toy caught up with the sheets and it was lost for good which was a cause of great upset.

The swimming pool was closed despite being reassured there would be a pool available.

It was a good proximity to the thermal area, but despite being told it was a 4* hotel by the front desk when we raised concerns, it was definitely not a 4* experience.

Far too expensive for what was on offer.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frequentflyerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed three nights here in the one bedroom executive apartment. There were three of us ( one child), be aware the single bed is in the main living room. We were disappointed as it does not have all the features advertised on their website. The hotel is barely half finished , there are builders here all day every day. There are luxury furnishings but many are impractical and items you do expect are not available. For example there is a kitchenette and it is VERY small - no room to put down a drying rack. There is no coffee maker or even plunger coffee here. There was no hairdryer despite being listed as available in rooms. The room was cold - it has one central heating panel and a heated towel rack BUT this was not warm enough for winter - we had a little electric fan heater on all night as well. There were no electric blankets. The bed was very comfortable with nice linen. Overall it was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank limlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank PomeloChubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Lana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank SabrinaMarinoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Hotel R, Manager at Apollo Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
918 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 91 in Rotorua
255 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 91 in Rotorua
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#54 of 91 in Rotorua
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 91 in Rotorua
1,267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 91 in Rotorua
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Address: 7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $92 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apollo Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing