We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rooms, would come back for more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed April 7, 2009

My partner and I stayed 2 nights at Ann's. The spa pool was great, under the stars! and the room was quiet and clean.
Ann also helped us find our way around Rotorua. we had a fantastic time. We will be back hopefuly on our next trip to new Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onholiday4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2010

Thank you so much for your well thought out review. i truly appreciate your well balanced opinion. i hope you do make it back again . Happy traveling
Best wishes for 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2009

the website describes the accommodation as "perfect for a fabulous family holiday, a romantic getaway, your honeymoon or executive stays"

I have re-read the website and feels it is very misleading

We found the rooms very compact and basic. In on of the bedrooms the 'furniture' consisted of a bed and 2 bedside cabinets.

The spa was very welcome at the end of a long day but was heated by a gas boiler and not the thermal springs one could assume from the motel name.

i would only recommend Ann's Volcanic to anyone who wants basic accommodation

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampshire_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2010

Thank you so much for writing a review! thank you for your lovely rating of 'service' and 'cleanliness' .

I am so sorry you were not happy with the 2 bedroom spa apartment. We do only have bedside cabinets in the 2nd bedroom (and a hall cupboard for hanging clothes.)

I do not believe there are any motels with individual spa pools (private to your unit ) which are mineral water. Individual spas in Rotorua are sometimes heated thermally -but do not have mineral water. This is because the mineral water is so destructive it damages the plumbing. I heat my spa pools water with gas, as in winter, thermal heating can be, in my opinion, a little inadequate. The winter temperatures in Rotorua lower the ground temperature and then this makes your spa pool less than 'really hot'.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Believed the advert that spoke of a superior motel and opted to pay a little extra on those grounds. Very disappointed to find that we were in a unit that had a door to the adjoining unit and every word could be heard through the wall. Not the best at 6am Sunday morning when they turned the tv on for the rugby next door!
The duvets had no covers and were torn as a result. The TV remote had no writing around the buttons so it was a guessing game to change the channel or turn the volume down. Also there was no back on the remote so the batteries kept falling out.
There was black mould all over the toilet cistern.
I found the cutsie references to her family and photos of her children on the walls in our unit a bit cloying.
Very annoyed to think that we could have stayed in budget accommodation at cheaper prices and still had a better room!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quaifeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Ann- Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2010

Dear Quaffe Family

Thank you for your review . My reply is a long time in coming -my apologies....I am I.T. challenged and didn't know the 'ins and outs' of this site 'til 2 weeks ago. Everything you mentioned was remedied a long time ago but I wanted to thank you for taking the time to review.

There proved to be an age-related mark (not mould) on a small part of the surface of your toilet cistern...so we replaced the entire thing!

Remotes are an ongoing thing. Apologies to you both. Kids! Who'd have 'em huh? They are forever 'disappearing' the back of the remotes...sometimes the entire remote. Go figure? We missed seeing it gone-So sorry.

I do present my family in photos in the rooms in the hope each guest’s stay feels like being at home.

Best wishes and Happy New Year!
Ann

PS: Here's hoping 2010 brings luck and prosperity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Ann is a lovely lady and always had a smile on her face, very helpfull with directions and advice on what's good and what's not. She recommended i go to a beautiful little coffee shop a bit out of town and it was the perfect spot! She has a lot of local knowledge you just need to ask! The room was just as described online. The room was clean and tidy, kitchen had everything i needed to cook a meal. Parking is right out the front of your room and the local shop is a 5 minute walk down the road. It is a distance from the town centre but this also means it's a nice quiet spot. A very friendly and nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pink_sar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Far less than I expected after reading the review on the N.Z. Government website. The room was extremely narrow, no fyrpan supplied & no electric outlet in bathroom. The housemaid was friendly, as are most of the Maori population. The website however, speaks of how friendly the owner is. Whoever wrote that has never stayed there or was the owner herself. Rates should have been no more than $70NZ for this motel, located so far from downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ontario_CanadaAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, ann -owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2010

hi there- thanks so much for taking the time to write a review.

The entire website has been remade (26 nov 2009) and my webmaster- urged me NOT have too much information but did I listen? My thinking is -give too much information - that way you can choose to read it or not.

I think you may have been in the STANDARD studio or the Budget Studio; these units are smaller , with the lounge as the sleeping area-but they are a very good rate.

It is most unfortunate I missed meeting you when you stayed.
Sometimes I miss personally meeting guests. I try very hard to make all my guests welcome but I do prefer to take a step back ,if people appear tired or in need of privacy.
It is a fine balance to be welcoming and helpful , yet not intrusive.
Best wishes for a happy 2010. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments

Address: 107 Malfroy Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: $66 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1997, in the inner circle of Rotorua City, New Zealand. Featured in Lonely Planet Guide Book for 15 years and close to Rotorua shopping centers, Golf Courses, and main tourism sights. Our charming accommodation is world famous for friendliness. We offer self catering suites and studios which are quiet and spacious. Perfectly suited for a romantic gateway for two, a holiday for the whole family or a business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Volcanic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing