We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simply Satisfied”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Ann's warm welcome as we checked in set the tone for an enjoyable weekend. The rooms were neat and spacious. No frills and latest modcons but comfortable. We enjoyed the privacy of the outdoor spa and the distance from Fenton Strret and the overpowering sulpher smell that exudes from the main tourist attractions. Ann's knowlegde of the area is amazing and was able to point out some attractions that would be of interest to us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
thank you so much for your very kind review. i truly appreciate the time you took to write it. i a m sorry if you were misinformed by the category Trip Advisor has put me in for some strange reason....i am supposed to be in HOTEL category (only since TRIP ADV's inception) but recently after 3 months of all kinds of balls ups ...TRIP ADVISOR decided to first amalgamate me with another motel ...Good Grief!... then in their 'wisdom' TRIP ADV placed me in B&B category.?.? Thanks to all my gorgeous guests and guests- to- be for being understanding. If you wanted Breakfast (B&Bs do those) and found I do not do Breakfasts...you will find there are so many great cafes nearby and you have 'self catering' facilities in your accommodation here and a nearby supermarket...such a money -saving choice. MAYBE soon TRIP ADV will read this and fix it up. fingers crossed eh? it has only been going on since JULY.(31.10.12). Best regards, Ann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    76
    33
    5
    13
See reviews for
63
82
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We've stayed at Ann's 2 or 3 times before. It's a home away from home when we want to have a quick overnight in Rotorua. It's on Malfroy, just off Fenton and easy to find, but away from the bustle of the main drag. Ann is always friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little older than some in town, but is clean and cared for. The art in the room and the small touches make it unique & personable. It's great to support a local business, especially one with a strong environmental focus. Yes, they ask you to be not use the jets in the spas after a certain time but this is common courtesy for other visitors. We always try to get a unit with a private spa pool, we know how loud the jets can be!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
thank you so much for your very kind review. i truly appreciate the time you took to write it. i am sorry if you were misinformed by the category Trip Advisor has put me in for some strange reason....i am supposed to be in HOTEL category (only since TRIP ADV's inception) but recently after 3 months of all kinds of balls ups ...TRIP ADVISOR decided to first amalgamate me with another motel ...Good Grief!... then in their 'wisdom' TRIP ADV placed me in B&B category.?.? Thanks to all my gorgeous guests and guests- to- be for being understanding. If you wanted Breakfast (B&Bs do those) and then you found I do not do Breakfasts...there are so many great cafes nearby and you have 'self catering' facilities in your accommodation here and a nearby supermarket...such a money -saving choice. MAYBE soon TRIP ADV will read this and fix it up. fingers crossed eh? it has only been going on since JULY.(31.10.12). Best regards, Ann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I booked a one bedroom apartment for a 6 night stay during low-season. It was a bit of walk from the city centre, but well worth it. It is about a five minute walk from a supermarket, which was just what we needed. The apartment was very comfortable and well-heated. We were able to enjoy the use of the private spa pool in the yard which was well out of the view of passersby. The motel is quiet, located in a safe neighbourhood, and self-contained.

What impressed my husband and I most was the character and "heart" that Ann brought to her motel. She wasn't just running a business; she was sharing a part of herself and her family with the guests that came to stay. She shared great recommendations for food and entertainment. Her bubbly personality and warm nature made it easy for us to feel at home immediately. We would definitely return on our next visit. This place is highly recommended. (But we'll remember not to let the cat into the house next time!)

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the front have a better wifi signal. Rooms closer to the back have very weak wifi si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dancingdaffodils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
thank you so much for your very kind review. i truly appreciate the time you took to write it. i am sorry if you were misinformed by the category Trip Advisor has put me in for some strange reason....i am supposed to be in HOTEL category (only since TRIP ADV's inception) but recently after 3 months of all kinds of balls ups ...TRIP ADVISOR decided to first amalgamate me with another motel ...Good Grief!... then in their 'wisdom' TRIP ADV placed me in B&B category.?.? Thanks to all my gorgeous guests and guests- to- be for being understanding. If you wanted Breakfast (B&Bs do those) and then you found I do not do Breakfasts...there are so many great cafes nearby and you have 'self catering' facilities in your accommodation here and a nearby supermarket...such a money -saving choice. MAYBE soon TRIP ADV will read this and fix it up. fingers crossed eh? it has only been going on since JULY.(31.10.12). Best regards, Ann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and Ann's, and like other travellers can highly recommend Ann's charm and assistance with your stay. On arrival, Ann went out of her way to describe many of the things to do on our stay (sorry Ann, we didn’t get to all of the things you suggested, but did take your recommendation to go to Wai-o-tapu before the crowds descended for the geyser – an excellent piece of advice!). When the bus for our Maori village dinner did not arrive Ann was more than happy to help chase them down and make sure they came and got us!

We stayed in a self-contained house ("2-br serviced apartment"). It was very pleasant, and sizeable (see photo) – for the price and location I was very pleased with the value. Whilst it was dated and a bit run down in parts, everything we needed was there and things were definitely clean. There was a large bedroom for the kids, main bedroom, huge lounge, kitchen. The bathroom was quite small but there was an additional loo. For less than $NZD200 per night for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids, I thought it was really pretty good. I would definitely stay again.

Ann’s is reasonably central and pretty quiet. It is convenient to be able to walk to the supermarket, but you probably would want to drive to most places you would want to go to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
thank you so much for your very kind review. i truly appreciate the time you took to write it. i am sorry if you were misinformed by the category Trip Advisor has put me in for some strange reason....i am supposed to be in HOTEL category (only since TRIP ADV's inception) but recently after 3 months of all kinds of balls ups ...TRIP ADVISOR decided to first amalgamate me with another motel ...Good Grief!... then in their 'wisdom' TRIP ADV placed me in B&B category.?.? Thanks to all my gorgeous guests and guests- to- be for being understanding. If you wanted Breakfast (B&Bs do those) and then you found I do not do Breakfasts...there are so many great cafes nearby and you have 'self catering' facilities in your accommodation here and a nearby supermarket...such a money -saving choice. MAYBE soon TRIP ADV will read this and fix it up. fingers crossed eh? it has only been going on since JULY.(31.10.12). Best regards, Ann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulmarra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week trip to New Zealand, most of our accommodation was booked after checking them out on Tripadvisor, very happy with all the result's of booking's made with advise from these review's.
At Rotorua, we stayed at " Ann's Volcanic Motel". We were a family party of 4 adults wanting 2 bedroom accommodation, we had a small house all to ourselves, just what we needed. Everything was supplied and we had a kitchen as well. Ann, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. Ann booked our trip to a Combo Cultural Dinner Experience, taking away any worrie's for us having to do this.
Thank's Ann.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maurieandvanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Maurie and Vanda, My thanks for your lovely review. It is wonderful! Thank you ! It was so nice to meet you and I am glad everything worked out for your holiday. Please come again . Best Wishes for a fabulous 2013. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and clean, located far enough away from townto be quiet but still just a few minutes drive to town. The rooms are a bit dated, but they have everything you need, plus a hot tub which is lovely after a day out.
The main attraction here really is Ann though, she's incredibly friendly and happy to make recommendations for your stay in rotorua. If you stay here make the most of her advice!

Wifi is available however I would only purchase it if staying in the front units-signal is very weak towards the back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omgkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Huge rooms with outdoor spas. Clean and tidy with comfy beds. The owner who serves at the front desk is wonderful. She helped us get to matamata to visit hobbiton which was very cool. The rooms are three star however at $129 NZD a night with cheaper options available it was great value for us. Best fish in chips shop on the same road as this hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.1 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.8 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#45 of 92 in Rotorua
109 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
1.0 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#41 of 92 in Rotorua
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 107 Malfroy Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1997, in the inner circle of Rotorua City, New Zealand. Featured in Lonely Planet Guide Book for 15 years and close to Rotorua shopping centers, Golf Courses, and main tourism sights. Our charming accommodation is world famous for friendliness. We offer self catering suites and studios which are quiet and spacious. Perfectly suited for a romantic gateway for two, a holiday for the whole family or a business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Volcanic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing