We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$157
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$147
$116
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$144
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$725
$428
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$484
$410
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$100
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
97
77
35
5
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
77
35
5
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa poolsingle bedcooking facilitiesenjoyed our staystayed for nightsroom was spaciousmotelaccommodationheaterdiscountnz
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 229 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay and Ann's, and like other travellers can highly recommend Ann's charm and assistance with your stay. On arrival, Ann went out of her way to describe many of the things to do on our stay (sorry Ann, we didn’t get to all of the things you suggested, but did take your recommendation to go to Wai-o-tapu before the crowds descended for the geyser – an excellent piece of advice!). When the bus for our Maori village dinner did not arrive Ann was more than happy to help chase them down and make sure they came and got us!

We stayed in a self-contained house ("2-br serviced apartment"). It was very pleasant, and sizeable (see photo) – for the price and location I was very pleased with the value. Whilst it was dated and a bit run down in parts, everything we needed was there and things were definitely clean. There was a large bedroom for the kids, main bedroom, huge lounge, kitchen. The bathroom was quite small but there was an additional loo. For less than $NZD200 per night for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids, I thought it was really pretty good. I would definitely stay again.

Ann’s is reasonably central and pretty quiet. It is convenient to be able to walk to the supermarket, but you probably would want to drive to most places you would want to go to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadTravelOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

thank you so much for your very kind review. i truly appreciate the time you took to write it. i am sorry if you were misinformed by the category Trip Advisor has put me in for some strange reason....i am supposed to be in HOTEL category (only since TRIP ADV's inception) but recently after 3 months of all kinds of balls ups ...TRIP ADVISOR decided to first amalgamate me with another motel ...Good Grief!... then in their 'wisdom' TRIP ADV placed me in B&B category.?.? Thanks to all my gorgeous guests and guests- to- be for being understanding. If you wanted Breakfast (B&Bs do those) and then you found I do not do Breakfasts...there are so many great cafes nearby and you have 'self catering' facilities in your accommodation here and a nearby supermarket...such a money -saving choice. MAYBE soon TRIP ADV will read this and fix it up. fingers crossed eh? it has only been going on since JULY.(31.10.12). Best regards, Ann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just returned from a 2 week trip to New Zealand, most of our accommodation was booked after checking them out on Tripadvisor, very happy with all the result's of booking's made with advise from these review's.
At Rotorua, we stayed at " Ann's Volcanic Motel". We were a family party of 4 adults wanting 2 bedroom accommodation, we had a small house all to ourselves, just what we needed. Everything was supplied and we had a kitchen as well. Ann, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. Ann booked our trip to a Combo Cultural Dinner Experience, taking away any worrie's for us having to do this.
Thank's Ann.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maurieandvanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Maurie and Vanda, My thanks for your lovely review. It is wonderful! Thank you ! It was so nice to meet you and I am glad everything worked out for your holiday. Please come again . Best Wishes for a fabulous 2013. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and clean, located far enough away from townto be quiet but still just a few minutes drive to town. The rooms are a bit dated, but they have everything you need, plus a hot tub which is lovely after a day out.
The main attraction here really is Ann though, she's incredibly friendly and happy to make recommendations for your stay in rotorua. If you stay here make the most of her advice!

Wifi is available however I would only purchase it if staying in the front units-signal is very weak towards the back.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omgkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Huge rooms with outdoor spas. Clean and tidy with comfy beds. The owner who serves at the front desk is wonderful. She helped us get to matamata to visit hobbiton which was very cool. The rooms are three star however at $129 NZD a night with cheaper options available it was great value for us. Best fish in chips shop on the same road as this hotel.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Very friendly welcome. Clean and spacious with lovely hot tub on our private terrace. Lots of help and guidance from Ann, who also booked us in to a Hangi evening with Maori entertainment.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews