We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable with the best of service..”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very comfortable with the best of service..”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My sister and I were very happy with our accommodations. Our room was wonderful and Vivian and Peter, the proprieters, made us feel very comfortable and welcome. By the time we left we felt like we made two new good friends. Vivian made delicious breakfasts and was extremely helpful with suggestions of what to do and see in the area of Rotorua. You can tell Vivian loves what she is doing. She was very sincere and takes a personal interest in her guests.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpieranunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
331
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Redwoods B&B. Vivian was very informative on what to see and do while in Rotorua. The Redwoods were within walking distance from the B&B which we did the first day. The lounge and dining area of the B& B were very nicely appointed. We loved our room, spacious and bright. Vivian served a wonderful breakfast each morning sitting with her guests, making us feel welcome in her home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Since you already get the gist from previous reviews that this is a great place, I'll just add a few details. What surprised my SO and I were the high end touches in the bathroom/room. Such as: an electric blanket (not needed during our stay), a heated rack for your towels, massage head in the shower, a heat lamp in the bathroom that WORKED, a fan and heater in the room, and a guide book for the local area.

Then there is Vivian's small touches. She closes the curtains for you so your room doesn't get too hot. She washed and dried our clothes for us, and left htem neatly folded on the bed. When she saw us return in the evening she would turn on the music for us in the living area. She makes hot tea for you, and gives excellent advise on what to see and do.

If you go, I have two recommendations. Start your moring with a walk through the redwood forest, which is right around the corner. Also visit the near by lakes, one of them has a nature preserve and you will likely see black swan chicks (too cute!)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kterhark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2010

To discover Vivien and Peter's B&B was a delight. The two large well appointed bedrooms and lounge/diner with their facilities were well above the standard expected, as was the hospitality of the hosts. The locality of Redwoods provides easy access to the town and also the main highway system making this an ideal location for discovering what this part of NZ has to offer to visitors. Vivien's breakfasts are not to be missed and nor is the wealth of information she provides and, in so doing, puts guests at ease immediately. I would stay at Redwoods again should I ever get the opportuntiy to revisit NZ.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombriton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangamata NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Denise and Jim Carbery Whangamata NZ
They were actually booked out but made up a room in their home to accomodate us
Very impressed
Beautiful family
A credit to NZ bed and breakfasts
Home away from home
Denise and Jim Carbery Whangamata NZ

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StunningWhangamataNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

The two rooms here are simple and well-designed, with a nice view into the owners' green and leafy back yard and a sitting room just for guests. Opt for the larger room if it is available. Everything that you need is provided. Breakfast is to order and very good. The real treat at B&B at the Redwoods is the owner, Vivian, who tried harder than any B&B owner we have ever seen to please us and help us enjoy our visit. She has lived in Rotorua for a long time and knows the best places to go and who runs what. She can advise on good hikes, good restaurants, and the best Maori hana to go to. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandstoneSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Vivian and Peter are very welcoming hosts. You are made to feel like part of the family.
The accomodation was self contained well maintained and clean. Breakfast is substantial
Vivian was very helpful in suggesting places to go and where to eat, so our suggestion would be "Seismic" by the lake.
5 minutes walk from the B&B is a Redwood forest which is worth taking a stroll around and beyond that is the blue and green lake which is worth a look as it is a little off the tourist trail.
You would be hard pushed to beat staying here at the Redwoods.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing