We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern and comfortable”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We stayed at this B&B for three days and were glad that we had chosen to do so. The room was very up to date, and clean and comfortable. There is a communal living room and free internet and Vivien is a wonderful host. (I had been on a hike the day before and had fallen in the mud and she took a load of alundy and washed it for us) She made reservations and suggested places to eat and see, and generally was very available and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clsohiotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 508 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2010

we are travelling through New Zeland by campervan and we were a bit tired of sleeping on our not so comfortable bed every night, so we decided to do a one night at a b&b. ONE NIGHTS BECAME FOUR NIGHTS, so relaxed and lovely it was at Viviens place!
She really did take good care of us; she made us a perfect breakfast every morning with eggs, fresh fruit and all sorts of muesli and at night she cooked us a meal (extra charge). We know that it can be very different in other b&b's so we really appreciated her personal involvement. She even watched after our children one morning when her husband Peter took my husband out for a mountainbike ride in de woods (and I felt a bit sick and wanted to get some more sleep). The children really loved it at her place (she took out a lot of toys for them). Our oldest even went up with Vivian to her kitchen to help her prepare the food (and stayed there to watch television the whole morning ;-)
The rooms are very beautifully refurbished and you feel like you are staying in 5 star hotel...but the service is better though.
We would definitely come back if we had the chance and we do recommend this b&b to every New Zeland traveller. Dont miss it; its an attraction to itself. Oh and go running in the Redwoods in the morning! You will leave this place revived and recharged and with two friends in New Zeland.
Femmie

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femmetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

This is an excellent basic B&B. It is located about 5 minutes from downtown Rotorua in a quiet residential neighborhood. Our room was spotless, efficient and comfortable. Parking is available off street in the driveway. Vivian our hostess was great - she's got a great warm personality and made us feel right at home. Her breakfasts were healthy and large - we really didn't need lunch. Vivian was a great resource for local information and really takes pride in her B&B - this shows.

If you're going to Rotorua this would be a great place to stay. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kochusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Went back for our 2nd Visit,this is part of our 6 weeks tour of New Zealand.Last year our 1st visit to New Zealand was for 4 weeks and it was not enough time. Had to revisit Vivien ( if only for the Pavlova Ha Ha ) Yes it was just as delicious as ever.As has been said in previous reviews the accommodation is excellent.Vivien goes out of her way to make you most welcome.Her knowlege of the surrounding area is vast.We did all the main ( Smelly) attractions last year.But had no problem going to many other area's Rotorua is surrounded by Lakes and walks. Well worth going to the Red and Green Lakes and Okareka Lake Walkway,not far away. Of coarse the 'Redwoods' which is round the corner from Vivien's. A must is Okere Falls and walkway just north of Rotorua ( can watch the whitewater rafting) lovely walk.
After having dinner the 1st night with Vivien and Peter. We went to the 'Zanellis' Italian Resturant 'BYO' Excellent, lucky to get a seat.So we booked and went the next night Fab. 2 other guests joined us and we had a great time.
Thanks Vivien and Peter for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry-Jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We arrived at B& B Redwoods on the 2nd day of our stay in New Zea land. All the other accommodations we stayed at after that were compared to the excellent stay we had here! Vivien was the perfect hostess; we were welcomed with a yummy cake, a very thoughtful gesture! Vivien was very helpful with advise and bookings on things to do at Rotorua. She has done up the house beautifully which reflect her personal touch. The rooms were lovely, clean with comfortable beds ; bathrooms modern and squeaky clean and a garden with a tree-house that the kids loved! But it was the breakfast that completely wowed us over..freshly baked bread, personalised egg preferences and a full table of assorted goodies; very generous and very satisfying. We went for a morning walk to the Redwood forests which were right next door. All in all, we started our stay at a place with such high standards that were difficult to match elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vandanaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We recently stayed at the B&B at the Redwoods & were very impressed by both the room & our host! As soon as we arrived, Vivienne showed us the room & then made us coffee & sat down with us to talk about Rotorua & all the sites/activities she thought we'd be interested in. She suggested horseback riding which was only a 10min. drive away & ended up being one of the highlights of our trip!! She had many other useful suggestions & really took the time to answer our questions. When it came to dinner options - she even had some sample menus for us to look at & we were very impressed by the food at the restaurant she recommended. The room was very spacious - which was appreciated - and very clean and quiet. There is also a common living area where we could sit & relax while checking our email on the free wi-fi., We also liked that it had a separate entrance for guests & we didn't have to walk through someone's home. Vivienne gave us options for breakfast - we had a cooked breakfast 1 morning & continental the next - both were very good. This B&B is a hidden gem & good value for your money!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Stayed for two nights. Vivian was a delight. She gave us an itinerary for day’s touring that was perfect for us, totally within our time frame. Whatever you do, wait till you are there and ask Vivian what you should do or see.
Terrific breakfast, plus Vivian would sit with us and talk about the days events. Room was good size and the bathroom ample. Quiet backyard area.
Because of Vivian, went to a Maori meeting place near the B&B, felt energy while in it alone, a special moment.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank undertaker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
390 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $125 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing