We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CF
1 review
“Right at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the B&B The Redwoods. From first email contact, to right upon our arrival, it was clear that Vivien and Peter will very willing to help make our stay as comfortable as possible. This included sitting down and helping us plan our time and scrambling to try to help us make reservations for local activities. The place was very cozy and clean and offered all the amenities we needed during our stay. Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmarchesani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
330
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed only two nights at this B&B and wished it had been more. Our hosts, Vivien and Peter were delightful. They share their home and their time with guests to ensure that everyone the best possible time in the area. Although situated in a suburban family home, the B&B accommodation has been carefully designed to provide spacious accommodation which has a separate entrance from the family accommodation. Guests occupying the two rooms share the use of a spacious lounge which is also where meals are served. Breakfast was delicious, but even more so was the dinner we booked on the evening we arrived. Vivien is a great cook and we enjoyed her 'fusion' meal influenced by her Malaysian heritage. An added bonus is that the Redwood forest is a short walk away and is a haven of peace amongst the busy geo-thermal sights of Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were a little put off on driving into Rotorua. It is a big, somewhat ugly, commercial city with Las Vegas type signs and parts smell of sulfur. Probably the ugliest town we saw in NZ. We were glad that The Redwoods is a short distance away need the Redwood Forest and is away from the traffic and noise and especially away from the bad smell. This is a private house with rooms added down below. Rooms and bathrooms are a little small but very clean and comfortable. Vivian was a great hostess, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theredwoods, Owner at B&B @ The Redwoods, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for your interesting comments about our “Famously Rotorua” city.

· Your verdict of it as “probably the ugliest town we saw in NZ” doesn’t seem to be a commonly held view amongst either New Zealanders or foreign guests. Rotorua is currently the holder of the “NZ’s Most Beautiful City Award” an accolade that it has received at the annual Keep New Zealand Beautiful Awards, seven out of the last thirteen years. Foreign guests particularly delight in the extensive beautiful plantings of tulips and seasonal flowers on the roundabouts and median barriers of the broad roads and picturesque Government Gardens near the iconic Bath House, Blue Baths and lake front at the heart of the city.
· Rotorua is a geothermally active area with boiling mud, hot pools and spectacular geysers but early Europeans used it as a stopover on the way to New Zealand’s first tourist attraction, the even more fabulous Pink & White Terraces which in the 1800’s were referred to as the “Eighth Wonder of the World”. When the Pink & White Terraces were covered in ash and mud from the eruption of Mt Tarawera in 1886, Rotorua became NZ’s major tourist destination, a spa town with a vibrant Maori culture, curative waters, geothermal wonders and beautiful lakes. One must expect in a geothermal area with hot water, steam and mud bubbling to the surface that you’ll get the “bad” smell of sulphur. Sulphur certainly has a distinctive smell and in some areas of town it’s more noticeable than others but it’s hardly “bad”, it’s natural consequence and part of the experience of a real spa town.
· “Rooms and bathrooms are a little small” – this is a personal observation but not a common complaint by any means. In fact many more guests have commented about the good size bedroom and bathroom in their Trip Advisor reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Thanks again Vivien for the fantastic time we had with you in Rotorua last month!
The only regret : we just stayed for 1 night... Honestly everything was perfect : the location near the beautiful Redwoods forest is just great, in a quiet street, the room was extremely clean and comfortable, the breakfast very tasty... And last but not least : your lovely hospitality and advises to visit the region! We'll come back for sure!!!
Evi & Rohan

Room Tip: We had the bedroom at the front and we were very happy with but the bedrooms at the back with the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Vivian and her family will welcome you with open arms. We were greeted with homemade cake and the rooms had all of the common amenities. There is so much to do in Rotorua so you'll want at least two nights there. The facilities that Vivian and her family created match any upscale hotel. We didn't have any prior bookings at nearby activities and since it was near a holiday a lot of things were booked in town. Vivian was able to get us a massage booking, last minute and recommended some activities for us around town. I truly felt at home here and would certainly stay at B&B@the Redwoods during my next visit to NZ.

Room Tip: Don't only stay for one night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I and my wife stayed just 1 night in B & B @ The Redwoods.
My wife is pregnant and when we got there, Vivien realized that and she suggested kindly what we can do in Routorua because we cannot do any activity.
Even breakfast was so nice and delicious, my wife and my baby enjoyed that. lol
This is nice place and I and my wife got deep impression.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We spent 2 nights with Vivian at the B&B at the Redwoods. It was a last minute detour so we never got around to researching what there was to do but that didn't matter because Vivian was so amazing. She gave us the perfect 2 day itinerary when we arrived and even researched everything that was open on Christmas day for us.
She also found us a wonderful place for a Christmas dinner (at the Mokoia) and we couldn't have been more pleased.
During our down time, she was always around for a friendly chat and to make sure we had everything we needed.
The B&B was comfortable, we stayed in the Koru suite. The room was very nice and spacious and even had a private outside sitting area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing