We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Stay...too short.”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay...too short.”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the B&B @ The Redwoods in late September for one night and totally regretted not getting to stay there longer. We arrived hours earlier than check-in because we wanted to park our car there while we went mountain biking in the redwood forest that is just a couple blocks away (bike shop is just a block away also). Vivien’s husband greeted us and gave us some great recommendations on which trails to take (better advice than we got at the bike shop). Since it had been raining, we wanted to know what areas/trails to avoid. He got on his computer and printed out instructions/descriptions of the trails for us before we left as we were getting our bikes ready. He also offered us muffins that Vivien baked that day and they were seriously the best muffins I have ever had. They were lemon with white chocolate (made from the lemon tree in the back yard) and they were amazing…light, crumbly and moist and I’ve been trying (and failing) to make them ever since I got home. I was a little disappointed that it was raining most of the time we were there so we couldn’t take advantage of the little deck off of our bedroom in the back yard. It is so peaceful and relaxing and I just wanted to sit there and read with a glass of wine. The only negative review I read complained that you are in a suburban back yard but the back yard is so peaceful and beautiful, framed in with gorgeous trees, I never realized it. We ended up mountain biking longer than expected and when we got back, Vivien had great recommendations (and discounts) for the hot springs in Rotorua for that night and the best times to go to certain sites (Wai-o-tapu…we would have missed the geyser without her advice). We only spent one night there and the morning we left, Vivien made us a delicious breakfast (including made to order eggs) and then had more great advice for us for our drive up to our next destination (Cathedral Cove). I love Vivien’s design style (very clean, simple, and modern). She and her husband were so helpful and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone and would go out of my way to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shdmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theredwoods, Owner at B&B @ The Redwoods, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Hi Minon & Shaun,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so pleased to hear your positive experience with us and though it was a short 1 day stay we thoroughly enjoyed hosting you both. We were glad you managed to do the mountain biking tracks even though it was raining. I will email you the Lemon Crunchy Muffins (Vivien's Recipe with the added white chocolate) with few handy tips to make them light and moist. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
331
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at B&B @ the Redwoods while we were in Rotorua as part of our honeymoon. Vivien was great and very enthused about her guests, her B&B, her family, and her community. Vivien gave us great breakfasts and great advise on what to do in the area. Perfectly located close to the redwoods, biking trails, geo-thermal spas, downtown Rotorua, great food, and just everything! We really hope we can make another trip to New Zealand and if we do we will certainly stay at B&B @ the Redwoods!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was the best B&B we stayed in our NZ trip. Vivien was the most friendly and helpful host we had on our NZ trip. Not saying our other B&B's were not good but this one was better then our expectations. We had nice and interesting conversations with Vivien not only about Rotorura and NZ but also about other topics.
The room was great with all things that we needed, the breakfast room and the breakfast were also perfect.
Vivien gave us good tips for the Maori cultural sights to see and also good tips about other short excursions in the neighbourhood: Redwoods walks, Lake Tawarera, etc.
Also her advice where to dinner were very good and we had a good dinner in Rotorura in an Indian restaurant.
If we would visit Rotorura again we would for sure stay in the B&B@The Redwoods.
Thank you Viven!!!
We will keep this beautiful time always in our minds :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun4Ever1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we were thankful to have Vivien to recommend and make reservations for us to explore Rotorua. The accommodations were comfortable and cozy, we felt at home the whole time we were there. Highly recommend staying here if you are in Rotorua!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at B&B @ The Redwoods in mid Dec and thoroughly enjoyed it! The room and location were great and Vivien could not be beat! She is an exceptional hostess who knows the area intimately and is always available to answer questions and make recommendations. We were able to walk to the redwoods park which is just one block over from the house. The house is also very convenient to town and other area attractions. We spent my boyfriend's 50th birthday here and it was quite a nice surprise for him when Vivien greeted him that morning with a birthday card and a lovely bottle of New Zealand wine. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone spending time in Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Its my first time to NZ as well as Rotorua,me and my 20yrs best friend 1st road trip in our life !! Thanks for the welcome cake and nice chat during these 4days.My great pleasure to sharing our adventures & journeys with Vivien.

Cozy & comfortable place to stay all over the place , no matter the room or dinning area.The facilities for bedroom / washroom were absolutely clean & makes us feel like HOME .With expertise / advice from Vivien , both we know more about Rotorua & the small towns nearby, great ideas always come from her and you won't feel enough time for you trip .Love the atmosphere when we're having breakfast together with other guests came from Germany, sharing / introducing to each other,meeting new friends .

I would definitely coming back here because of you and Peter in he future , looking forward to attend any function you going to organize :)

Good location which only few minutes of driving to city centre .

Thank you for everything Vivien , miss your breakfast & hospitality .This is the BEST B&B I had stayed so far ......

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFromHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My best friend from primary school came to New Zealand for a visit so we've decided to stay at B&B @ The Redwoods for our Rotorua leg of the road trip. It was one of the best experiences I've ever had!

The room we stayed in was clean, bright and spacious. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Everything about the accommodation was remarkable, but the best thing about this place is the lovely hostess, Vivien. She's very friendly and always helpful. Extremely well-connected and knowledgeable, Vivien gave us some really good advice on where we could visit and made sure we were well looked after. I really enjoyed the conversations with Vivien at the breakfast table alongside other travellers. It was definitely the personal touch that made the stay so awesome. I highly recommend anyone who's looking for a top-notch B&B experience in Rotorua to stay at B&B @ The Redwoods.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing