We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience!!! YOU MUST STAY HERE!!”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing Experience!!! YOU MUST STAY HERE!!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our FAVORITE place of all the places we stayed in New Zealand. We will definitely be back to see Vivien. Not only was the room fantastic, but its a smaller B&B which meant that we were looked after amazingly well. Vivian is a fantastic host who took time out to make SURE we had a fantastic time. She was incredibly knowledgeable about the area and things that were available for us to do. She even arranged a last minute horseback riding experience for us in the middle of Easter and then drove us there and back. Did I mention she took us on a fantastic side tour to show us some amazing local spots on our way back? Oh and if this wasnt enough, Vivian made us FRESH BAKED GOODS...and when we were away for her world famous hot cross buns..she made us a fresh batch to make sure we didnt miss out. I cant recommend this B&B enough. The location is wonderful. We were very happy to be in such a quiet neighborhood so near to the Redwood forest. The rooms were so wonderfully taken care of it was like walking into a newly renovated apartment. There was even a little patio attached to our room. If your looking for a great place to stay where you will be very well taken care of this IS the place for you! Thank you so much Vivian for everything! We've talked about you so much to all our friends and family that we're already planning another trip back to see you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
331
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I just visit this B& B on last month and this is my first time to New Zealand.For sure I have good stay in here.The room and bathroom which so clean, and tidy and with a great lookout to the garden .I am so enjoy to have red wine and snacks in the garden with my husband.
When I arrival to there,Vivien already prepare her home make cake for us.She is so friendly and good recommendation for either delicious food or sightseeing.( with some discount cuponds).
I also like the unlimited free wifi.You can't believe after I go to Queenstown and Christchurch. Most of the hotel 's free wifi only with 50m.
Sure I have wonderful time with Vivien.I will miss her great looking and delicious breakfast.
I highly recommend her B&B to everybody who would like to stay in Rotorua .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Netnetyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is THE place to stay if you have young kids.
Firstly, the accommodation is beautiful, comfortable, modern and spotless with onsite parking and excellent internet speed. Secondly, the location is fantastic; very close to town but out of the way enough not to smell the sulfur fumes (personally, I could barely stand these in town). Quiet and located right next to the beautiful Redwoods and stunning Blue and Green Lakes. The whole house is very child-friendly and the tyre swing and tree house in the garden and toy box in the living room delighted our two year old for hours. Then there is Vivien herself, Having been travelling for 6 weeks and having experienced many lovely B&Bs on our travels, we were taken by surprise at how the warmth and calibre of this host raised our experience here above all the rest, She was extremely flexible and accommodating with all of our requests, and she truly loves children. She played games with our son and even let him keep a toy he became particularly attached to. I actually felt like I was getting a break from the constant needs of a toddler! She herself is an intelligent, interesting and inspiring person who loves to meet new people. The baked goods, personalised breakfast and expert local knowledge is just icing on the cake. It would be a mistake to miss this place.

Room Tip: Only two rooms, both on the ground floor and of equal loveliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaschSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

A good one nights stay in Rotorua. Vivian was very helpful and helped me make the most of my limited time. Her recommendation of Hells Gates was spot on- quiet at dusk for a magical spa experience. Room was comfy and clean and quiet and dark. So a good nights sleep. Brekkie tasty. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Wonderful hospitality and very knowledgeable about local offers with some fabulous recommendations on sightseeing. Room is extremely comfortable with a great lookout to the garden. Very child-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 31CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great 2 nights stay at 'The Redwoods'. No sooner had we arrived and walked through the door, than we were offered tea & cake - birthday cake - which Vivien had baked, to share, on the occasion of her birthday - 21 again! What a delightful host and equally delightful and comfy accommodation with all amenities required. Great breakfasts with homely conversation. Situated on the outskirts of the town, there is need to drive in to centre. However, in opposite direction, a short distance up the hill, is The Forest Park and further along, Lake Okareka and the Green & Blue Lakes, all of which Vivien advised us about, together with other info on the sites to see in and around. Decided to take her recommendation of dinner in Skyline Restaurant with Gondola trip up and views over Rotorua. Also, the following evening, decided on the Te Puia Maori Cultural Centre for visit to geysers, performance & traditional Maori meal - free transport. Both thoroughly enjoyable and booked ahead for us by Vivien - with 10% discount! Well worth early visit to Waiotapu Thermaland, to walk round numerous different volcanic sites. In Rotorua, drive to waterfront and visit Government Gardens - flower displays, flat green bowling & croquet - all next sulphorous steam vents!! A wonderful stay with the birthday girl!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at The Redwoods, Rotorua, New Zealand. Our innkeeper, Vivian, was amazing! She welcomed us, sat us down with maps and ideas, offered food and wine. Rotorua is a delightful city in NZ and the location of this B&B is excellent. Vivian knows everything there is to know about this Area of NZ. She is extremely gracious and remembers everything! The breakfast was cooked to order, delicious! We especially loved the Redwoods park, which is near near the B&B..our best to Vivian. Thank you for a delightful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italybound15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing