We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to the Redwoods forest”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bologna
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Next to the Redwoods forest”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This b&b is very close (walking distance) to the Redwoods forest, which features nice trails and an outlook point over Rotorua, the lake and two big geysers.

It's a peaceful, relaxing place.

Vivian and Peter are lovely, helpful, very dedicated hosts.

Breakfast is excellent and there are always snacks available in the living room (which is a common space).

Rooms are large and well appointed. Some of them do not have a key but this is fairly commons in NZ B&Bs. Some drawers appeared to be occupied by owner's stuff, but then again, this is fairly normal in a B&Bs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
337
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Well where to start. We loved every minute of our stay at the Redwoods from the lovely warm welcome (with homemade cake, tea and lots of info for our stay), the local expert knowledge of both Vivian and Peter, the beautifully appointed rooms and amazing breakfast. They told us about a few "off the beaten track" locations during our stay...places we would never have found without his help and some of the highlights of our trip to Rotorua.

The B&B is in a fab location if you love the great outdoors...just a few minutes stroll to the Redwood forest, an amazing place, and a short car journey away from some of the prettiest lakes to swim in. There is also the option of walking into Rotorua which took us around 30 minutes. However a taxi back from the town is only around $10 so either way everything is on your doorstep.

Peter and Vivian couldn't do enough to help us during our stay. In fact I left my necklace in the bathroom when we moved on. Before I had even realised Vivian had emailed me and suggested to post it to one of our following destinations. Sure enough I had my necklace waiting for me at the accommodation I had asked her to post it too (on the south island) and at no extra charge. Vivian you are a star!

Beautiful house, beautiful service and beautiful people! Thank you for making our first few days in New Zealand that little bit more special!

Gemma and Dan

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We usually stay at our friends when we come to Rotorua but due to their full house with stayed at Vivian's. It was so comfortable and easy. A comfortable bed, room large well appointed and a great breakfast. It was literally home away from home. Vivian was so helpful and accommodating without being intrusive. we will defintely be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjediamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely welcome from Vivien. She is so amazingly organised and able to book us into this and that at the drop of a hat. We were greeted with homemade cake and a lovely cuppa and maps and guides to help plan our (too short) stay and make the most the Rotorua sights. Redwoods is a lovely contemporary house, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The B&b was full when we booked but Vivien kindly let us book her charming Summer Room for the night with it's newly fitted en suite. Lovely bed linen and towels and even robes and slippers, free wifi and a very comfortable night's sleep. Breakfast the next morning round a big table with other guests was great. We had such a short time here we were glad Vivien got us a space on the Maori evening experience which was great fun and good plentiful food. In the morning we went with a great guide for a tailored tour of the Maori community and the mud pools, geysers and thermal pools and springs. Vivien kindly hung onto our cases til we returned. We'd definitely stay at Redwoods next time we are here, felt like leaving a friend when we departed!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Vivian's for two nights on our gist to Rotorua, we were made very welcome from he outset and Viv gave us some extremely useful inside knowledge for the area in what to see and when to go. From a glorious walk in the Redwood forest only half a kilometre from the B&B to which attractions are best and where to buy the best local fruit.
If you are in ten Rotorua are you could not do better than the B&B at the Redwoods, we would definitely recommend it. I hope we can visit again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We booked Redwoods based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. This must be the best B&B in Rotorua without question and after a month of travelling around NZ it got our vote as the best place we stayed in. The landlady, Viv, is a superb hostess and from the minute we rang her doorbell, to the morning we left, nothing was too much trouble for her. Even arriving early and interrupting her lunch didn't stop her insisting on making us a drink of coffee to help wash down the cake she had made for us arriving. Don't bother booking any attractions in Rotorua, just speak to Viv and she will do it for you and also make some good suggestions for other attractions you should see. The breakfast sets you up for the day so forget about where to have lunch and when you get back to Redwoods in the late afternoon, you can settle yourself down in the private residents lounge, make yourself a cup of something and help yourself to the fresh fruit or biscuits always on hand for guests. Rooms are good size, exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Book early to avoid missing out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 2 nights in Koru suite at this lovely and well-run B&B.
Although it´s only a 5min drive from downtown Rotorua, you are far away from tourist crowds flooding Rotorua.
Koru Suite is well equipped and has a small balcony- ideal for sipping a glass of wine, but also a bit noisy because of the main road down at the lake.
Vivien is an enthusiastic and knowledgable host serving great cooked breakfasts.
And thanks for recommending Bistro 1284 to us, Vivien- we loved it, although we had some difficulties in finding it during heavy rainfalls.........
Don´t miss a walk through the redwood forests just around the corner.
Recommendable place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
381 reviews
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing