We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at The Redwoods”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had a lovely stay at The Redwoods. Vivien & Peter were extremely welcoming and did everything to make our holiday easier in the three days we were with them. The room was clean, well appointed and very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious (and accompanied by some lovely chats!). The B&B is just outside central Rotorua, but this was never a problem and it was only a couple of minutes drive into town - in fact, we were almost certainly better off for being just outside!

The only single down note is that the television in the bedroom has extremely poor reception (as to be unwatchable on all but one channel) - Vivien explained that this was generally an issue in the area and, to be honest, we had far more exciting things to be doing that sitting in our room, watching tv!

All in all, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 500 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2011

Vivien is indeed the most warming and hospitable host whom I have met so far. She gave very good recommendation on activities and places to eat based on your interests. The room and lounge area are very clean and cozy. Although wireless connection only works effectively in the lounge, we were fine with that as we still had our own privacy. Kudos to Vivien for making the effort to compensate this little flaw by having an ipad in the lounge for guests to use.

Breakfast is delicious and thanks for the effort to make the chinese-style half-boiled eggs for us.

Location is good as it is a mere 5-15 minute drive from all good spots in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_tong20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The situation just outside Rotorua is fine. You will need the car to drive into the town, but let’s face it, you have the car anyway if you are staying here. Vivienne was very welcoming as soon as we arrived giving us lots of advice as to where to visit. Admittedly my husband had stayed in Rotorua several times and knew most of the places but it was good to get tips anyway. The room was lovely – large, well equipped and clean. It also led onto the back garden via some wooden steps which was really nice. It was good to have a small table and chairs there as well to sip wine at in the evening sun. The breakfast was lovely – you can choose exactly what you want rather than just a standard menu. We were also treated to some homemade cake and cream when we came home early one afternoon. All in all a very welcoming and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplepixie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

What a wonderful feeling of welcome we experienced from Vivian! The accommodations are spacious, very clean and cozy at the same time. We hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailorHR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Amazing hospitality @ B&B The Redwoods. Thank you Vivian for all your great advices and suggestions what to do in and round Rotorua. Your are surlely an expert. Appreciate it! Besides your amazing hospitality definitely to mention the nice and clean room, comfortable bed and yummy breakfast. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every part of it. Vivian is a wonderful host whith a world of knowledge for the entire area. She gave us many recommendations and even a few discount coupons for th e activities we chose. Take the 1 hour drive to see Hobbiton film site. It's absolutely beautiful even if you're not a lotr fan. Great breakfasts and a lot of person attention make this a unique place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We originally had booked for 1 night, but Vivien gave us such great advice about where to go, what to do (and more importantly what not to do) and where to eat that we stayed for an extra night. It was great to be on the outskirts of Rotorua but with easy reach of attractions and restaurants. We especially enjoyed going to The Landing at Lake Tarawera. Great atmosphere, great room and breakfast was a super start to the days. It was our last 2 nights in New Zealand and they were very special. Thank you. Denzil & Lottie from the UK

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denzil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
1.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
1.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $122 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing