We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake House Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After a week in Queenstown, we spent 2 nights in roturua before flying home. Picked this B&B as we would want the children to have a different lodging experience in New Zealand. On top of that, it also offers a room with bunk beds which is ideal for family with young children like us.

Ken and Carol were such amazing hosts who welcomed us to their home with warm hospitality. They greeted us with afternoon tea and home baked muffins. Not to mention Carol's fabulous and tasty breakfast with homemade jams, and my 10 year old's favourite would be french toast with maple syrup. Carol would also make sure no repetitions on our breakfast spread during our stay.

As our 6 year old was having a cold, staying in the Lakehouse had been our best decision as it was very comfortable and convenient like living in our own home. Although not in the town centre, but very convenient located, only 10 mins drive to the eating street which was recommended by Carol and Ken. The b&b location is strategically located, with the house fronting a beautiful lake and close to all attractions recommended by Ken.

The kids couldn't stop talking about the lakehouse after coming back home. We hope to come back again one day.

Thank you again, Ken and Carol, for your warm hospitality.

Jean and David

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joclarelim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Thanks a lot for welcoming us at The Lake House. It s such a pleasant stay, rooms are great and Carol & Ken very warm people, thanks a lot for all the good recommandations, we loved the Hamurana springs!!!!
Really yummy breakfast, warm rooms in winter, amazing view on the lake.....

Super endroit a ne pas manquer a Rotorua, une maison magnifique et un lieu serein ou l on peut se reposer tout en profitant du Spa et des Kayaks. Des personnes tres accueillantes qui sont de tres bon conseil par rapport au choses a voir a Rotorua!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are greats and the kids room is just great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crachel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This January my husband and I went for 1 month to New Zealand for our honeymoon. As we did a tour of the two islands we stayed at many hotels/b&Bs/lodges. When I think back at our accommodation we can say for sure that our stay at the Lake House was the most pleasant.

Firstly, the hosts were amazing. Carol greeted us with warmth and baked muffins (yummy). I enjoyed very much talking with her and finding our about her interesting life. We almost missed the 10:30 Geyser eruption at Wai-O-Tapu because of the pleasant conversation and the very tasty breakfast (I still remember the omelet and home made jams).

The house itself is very beautiful and our room was very spacious, nicely furbished and with big windows (I love light). The lawn was also perfect and the fact that it finished directly into the lake was like a dream. We enjoyed a pleasant bath in the lake at sunset followed by relaxation in the Jacuzzi.

It is not located in the center of Rotorua but from the B&B to the restaurants street it's only a short drive. True, somebody had to refrain from drinking the wonderful New Zealand wine but happily it wasn't me so no inconvenience here.

We loved to stay here and we want to come back as soon as possible. The only obstacle is the huge distance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adinarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had gone for my honeymoon to New Zealand and the Lake House was one of the best places we stayed at. The hosts were gracious and hospitable from the word Go. As soon as we entered Carol offered us tea and home baked muffins. We had a great time using the kayaks and the hot tub. Carol and Ken have immense knowledge about the city as well as the country. Fresh breakfast was served daily. Carol was very helpful as she let us use the laundry and she shared her lovely recipes with me. All in all the service and rooms were top-notch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjali191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a lovely Queens Birthday weekend stay in Rua Room at The Lake House, hosts Ken & Carol Saxby. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. Our room was the smaller 1 of the 2 but perfectly adequate and well appointed. Carol's fabulous home baking/cooking was beaut. Wonderful selection of hot drinks (& cold) readily available and fresh fruit (& cake) for a snack. Thanks so much for turning on our electric blanket each night & putting Bill's mtn bike away. These extra little special things made you feel very welcome. Breakfast was a treat, with yummy continental style breakfast, plus toast & homemade jams, or French toast/bacon, drizzled with syrup & fresh fruit. Divine. The Lake House has a lovely expanse of lawn, viewed from our bedroom and late afternoon drinks on the spacious terrace watching the sun set. We enjoyed the close proximity to the Lake and how lovely and quiet it was and only a short drive away from the noise & hustle of Rotorua. The B&B is short drive/ride to the fabulous Redwood Forest for bikers/hikers alike. We were given lots of info on local attractions and how to get there, namely Okere Falls as mentioned in Carol's book provided in our room, we decided to go there and enjoy the walk but due to pure luck and great timing we were able to watch a group of kayakers coming down the 7m waterfall. Brilliant.

Room Tip: Tahi (1) room is larger with double French doors onto terrace. Rua (2) is slightly smaller with sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamboWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We ended our NZ trip on a high note with a couple of days at the Lake House, Rotarua. Easy to find with Carol and Ken's directions, within easy reach of all the Rotarua attractions and walking distance of great restaurant. The Lake House is extremely comfortable, the rooms were lovely with wonderful views across the lake and stunning sunsets. Carol and Ken are very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away. Carol's baking is worth the visit alone!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, both are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in February. Ken and Carol are wonderful hosts and clearly enjoy sharing their lovely home. The Lake House is right on the edge of the lake, in a quiet and peaceful location, just a few kilometres outside the town.
Carol baked goodies for a welcoming tea on arrival and the breakfasts were excellent. They are both very knowledgeable about the area and New Zealand in general. Ken recommended some excellent walks, lending us detailed (as opposed to tourist) maps of the area.
Facilities include the use of Kayaks, table tennis table and jacuzzi. Carol swims in the lake most days and my wife enjoyed joining her. We had a lot in common with both Ken and Carol and thoroughly enjoyed their company and our stay at the Lake House.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuttonGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
745 reviews
3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
3.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Address: 6 Cooper Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $146 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing