We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rotorua B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake House Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This house had everything you could wish for - the perfect setting; views of the lake; no sulphur smell; fabulous hosts; yummy homemade biscuits and proper breakfast; comfy beds ( we stayed with our 6 yr old son); the jacuzzi room; the kayaks and helpful advice about anything you might need. Our whistle-stop tour of Rotorua turned into a highlight of our trip because we chose to stay here. We would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Extra beds for children are available - just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 104 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

Our two night stay was most enjoyable. A spectacular setting on the shores of Lake Rotorua with a comfortable, clean bedroom with lake views and beautiful decor throughout the house. Ken and Carol were engaging hosts who provided plenty of options for our time in Rotorua. Lovely breakfast and yummy afternnoon tea. Would recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DexterGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in February and had a wonderful time.The house was lovely, the lakeside location perfect.We mainly appreciated Carol and Ken's friendly hospitality, lending us kayaks, giving us tips on things to do and giving us lots of time.The bedroom was very luxurious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We had a fabulous stay in February at Carol and Ken's lovely home in the stunning location on the shores of the Lake. Only a short drive from all the attractions and easy walking to a good restaurant, but away from the sulphur fumes! They were the perfect hosts, and made us most welcome. The bedrooms were comfortable and well equipped (we stayed in the smaller ensuite room which had views of the lake and direct access to the gardens and verandah) and Carol's breakfasts and afternoon teas were a real treat. All the facilities you could wish for, and a jaccuzzi too! Their website was also very helpful, and even before we arrived, they had helped us plan our itinerary to see the best attractions in the area in our limited time. We would thoroughly recommend it and far better than an impersonal hotel. (Also discovered a mutual connection in the UK with Theydon Bois Golf Club!!)

Room Tip: Both rooms are very nice, but the larger is worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryDEpping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I chose this B&B mainly because the location looked spectacular and it certainly doesn`t disappoint, the lake is a mere few metres away and the view is spectacular.
However, even without the view this would still garner 5 stars for the quality and comfort provided and the wonderful help, hints and suggestions for the best of Roturua from Carol and Ken. They are warm, friendly and very interesting hosts and we will always remember our stay here as much for the evening chats as the view

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Tahi room and everything was perfect. Carol and Ken gave us a nice warm welcome and joined us for afternoon Tea out on the back deck ovelooking the Lake. Our room was large, clean and had really nice heated floors. The bathroom was nice sized and had heated floors and a towel warming bar. Our room had a window with a nice Lake view and a french door opening to the rear deck. Everything felt very private and secluded. Carol and Ken shared information with us about local sights and activities so that we could make the most of our time while visiting Rotorua. Breakfast was plentiful and great. There were also two Kayak's and a great hot tub with Lake views you can use. We really enjoyed our visit with Ken & Carol and are really pleased we chose the Lake House as the place to stay while visiting Rotorua.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Carol & Ken who are wonderful hosts that make you feel very welcome the minute you walk in. In the Lake House you wake up right on the shore of Lake Rotorua. One of the best Kiwi breakfasts will help you gather strength for all the great activties in and around the lake and the town. One of which is kajaking on the lake starting right in their garden.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
3.5 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Address: 6 Cooper Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: $147 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing