We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, they do mean "on the shores of....."”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lake House Rotorua
Ranked #29 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, they do mean "on the shores of....."”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I chose this B&B mainly because the location looked spectacular and it certainly doesn`t disappoint, the lake is a mere few metres away and the view is spectacular.
However, even without the view this would still garner 5 stars for the quality and comfort provided and the wonderful help, hints and suggestions for the best of Roturua from Carol and Ken. They are warm, friendly and very interesting hosts and we will always remember our stay here as much for the evening chats as the view

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Tahi room and everything was perfect. Carol and Ken gave us a nice warm welcome and joined us for afternoon Tea out on the back deck ovelooking the Lake. Our room was large, clean and had really nice heated floors. The bathroom was nice sized and had heated floors and a towel warming bar. Our room had a window with a nice Lake view and a french door opening to the rear deck. Everything felt very private and secluded. Carol and Ken shared information with us about local sights and activities so that we could make the most of our time while visiting Rotorua. Breakfast was plentiful and great. There were also two Kayak's and a great hot tub with Lake views you can use. We really enjoyed our visit with Ken & Carol and are really pleased we chose the Lake House as the place to stay while visiting Rotorua.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pwtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay with Carol & Ken who are wonderful hosts that make you feel very welcome the minute you walk in. In the Lake House you wake up right on the shore of Lake Rotorua. One of the best Kiwi breakfasts will help you gather strength for all the great activties in and around the lake and the town. One of which is kajaking on the lake starting right in their garden.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Ken & Carol run a fantastic B&B and are really great hosts. The house and location are beautiful - right on the lake's edge. Being just outside Rotarua town , it is really peaceful and the views from the garden are stunning. Breakfast was a real treat and Carol & Ken offer great advice on places to visit off the beaten tourist track.

Dinner at the nearby spa hotel was a real treat - try the taster menu.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms but both are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Great location and house. Combine that with wonderful hospitality from Carol and Ken and you can't go wrong. Perfect spot to tour around Lake Rotorua with helpful tips from Ken and Carol as to local highlights.
Strongly recommend

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This was our second visit to Carol and Ken's beautiful house and we felt like we had come home. They are such a warm and hospitable couple. Nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are second to non and there are freshly baked cakes available every day. Laundry facilities are free as is the internet. The beds are so comfortable and the area is very quiet.
The B&B is in the best spot, right on the lake and only a short drive to the centre of town. We had dinner on both evening at the Spa Hotel which is less than 5 minutes walk and has a superb restaurant.
We said last time that this was the best B&B that we have visited and still say the same.
Thank you to you both.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The large, pretty garden runs directly down to the lake, which is warm and safe for swimming. We woke and went to sleep with a view of the lake from our comfortable bed (great pillows and bed linen) in our en suite bedroom. Ken & Carol offered us full use of their lounge and Carol cooked the most superb breakfasts - better than any 5* hotel. When we got back from a trip Ken and Carol were there to chat and share home made cakes and tea/coffee with us. No need to do any research before you stay there - they are a fountain of knowledge about the best places to visit.

A lovely home, beautiful garden, perfect postion, exceptionally easy and friendly hosts, very clean and comfortable and the icing on the cake was the hot tub in its own beautiful garden room with views of the lake. I strongly suggest 3 nights and not just 2.

Nessa & Adrian Hart Theydon Bois, Essex, UK

Room Tip: The en suite with shower only is a larger bedroom. Both rooms have views of the lake and direct acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotorua
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
3.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 55 in Rotorua District
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
271 reviews
2.6 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Property: The Lake House Rotorua
Address: 6 Cooper Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake House Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing