We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bed of Roses
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
126
8
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
8
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench cottagefrench styletable settingsb bwonderful hostspersonal guestsroom was beautifully decoratedlovely coupleluisacliffskerikeriaccommodationfurnishingsbayprivacycomfortunits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 136 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Louisa and Cliff were fantastic hosts, when we arrived they checked us in, showed us our rooms, offered places to eat and things to do locally. The breakfasts were fantastic - if anything they made us too much food! We didn't eat half of the toast or croissants on offer, but the homemade muesli, fruit, eggs florentine were beautiful.

We stated in the Fleur de Lys room, and it was luxurious and comfortable. Much nicer than staying in a motel or hotel down in Paihia. The property is stunning, set on a hilltop with stunning views and such a relaxing place.

We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardo-and-lindbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We enjoyed two nights at this charming, French-themed character B&B. Very hospitable hosts and generous, enjoyable breakfasts. From Bed of Roses, it was an easy walk to nearby restaurants for dinner in the evening. The well-tended B&B itself was a lovely spot to come back to after a day touring in the scenic Bay of Islands district.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our stay in the 'French Cottage' at Bed of Roses was fantastic, we felt very lucky to be staying in such lovely surrounds - the setting on the hillside and gorgeous garden outlook where we were able to sit in the sun to enjoy the view and read our books, the delightful French-style furnishings, linen, and décor, and absolutely delicious and decadent breakfast prepared by Cliff and his staff. The host Cliff makes you feel so welcome, he is very kind and helpful, yet unobtrusive too. Bed of Roses is perfectly located far enough away from the main street of Kerikeri to feel you are really in a tranquil restful place yet close enough to walk or short drive to all the cafes, restaurants, shops, if you need. Just down the hill is the Stone House and river walk. Bed of Roses is an incredibly luxurious and comfortable stay and we would love to return again anytime for a break away.

Room Tip: The French Cottage is beautiful and sunny and spacious
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cliff and Louisa tick all the boxes for a top quality B&B with their stunning property The Bed of Roses. Their great taste, brilliant hospitality and amazing breakfast make for an extremely pleasant stay.

If only I had more time than one night, I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I am forever lucky to have stumbled across this marvellous little bit of paradise a few years ago, and every time I return I am intrigued with this couples attention to detail and such wonderful hospitality. This time on another business trip, I retreated to their abode to be warmly welcomed like a long lost relative. In my darling french cottage room were delicious home made Anzac biscuits with a chocolate twist, fresh flowers of lavender and rosemary and a real 'live' plant in a bowl on one of the tables. Honestly this place is a little slice of heaven, and once again had the most delectable breakfast accompanied by some other lovely guests from the Orient who were equably enthralled by the experience, and noted we were all taking photo shots of our most amazing breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousia, Owner at Bed of Roses, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thankyou Tracy for your lovely review. We love your visits, its like family coming to stay.
We appreciate your advice based on your experience in the Tourism industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews