We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful helpful hosts. Superb accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ala-Moana Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ala-Moana Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful helpful hosts. Superb accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in December 2012. The owner was very helpful in securing a last minute booking for us. The accommodation was spotless, so convenient to all the local amenities and the ferry and more than we ever expected! Our hosts gave us advice on what to do and where to eat. It was the ideal home for a perfect occasion. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review, we really appreciate your comments and hope you have the chance to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Innisfail, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at Ala Moana for three nights in January 2013. The owners came to greet us as soon as we arrived - we had no booking but they found us a room straight away. Although not 5 star, The rooms were spotless - so clean. The price was very reasonable, especially considering the location. They even booked our tours for us, after going through them and helping us decide - and added the cost onto our room charge. They also suggested some other things to do during our stay that we found very enjoyable, and even let us borrow their towels to take out on our tour! I would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Awesome comments - thank you so much for taking the time to review - it makes our hard work worthwhile!
We trust the rest of your holiday was as perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at Ala Moana ther nights in january 2013 on our tour around NZ. We just wlaked in from the street and meet a really nice and friendly owner couple. The apartment was newly refurbished and nice. No luxury but relly god for its price.
We had a nice veranda and wiev over the bay. Abslouly worth staying at!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tottelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you - we appreciate your fine comments and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

English couple stayed 2 nights in December . Excellent hosts , very friendly & helpful .Room was large & very comfortable with great view. Motel is superbly placed for all shops, restaurants ,boat trips etc . great swimming beach across the road . Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRAITHERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We very much appreciate your kind words and hope you get a chance to come back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
205 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We (myself, my mum, and my girlfriend) came back to the same room after we all stayed there 2 years ago also. It's the only room with a good view out to the bay as it's up one level - not panoramic by any means but lovely to sit just outside the room in the chairs provided and relax with a wonderful view in the direction of Russell. Great to spend an evening just sitting out there with a couple of bottles of wine and some cheese and bread.

There are also two units at the front of the property that would have a view but from ground level and more obscured by foliage and whatnot. The remaining units don't have any view.

The unit has pretty much a full kitchen and is a good size, it's only the bathroom area that is quite tight really. The only other minor negatives I can think of is that the TV is small and that being the Bay Of Islands in summer it's pretty warm so you need to sleep with the fan (provided inside the unit) on and windows open.

Location is fantastic being very close to town centre and just walk across the road to get to the beach and go for a swim.

This room, or one of the other two rooms with a view at this motel, would again be my first choice if I was staying in Paihia again in future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Nice clean motel and comfy beds, had three good nights sleep. Owners very friendly and helpful about what to do while you are there. If up there again would stay there for sure.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

2 couples stayed here for 5 nights in January Martin and Lynette could not have been more helpful.The accommodation was first class and we enjoyed our stay very much The Murrays

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Motel
Bayview Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#15 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.0 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
0.7 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#10 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala-Moana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala-Moana Motel

Property: Ala-Moana Motel
Address: 52 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ala-Moana Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best waterfront location in central Paihia, surrounded by an abundance of historical sites, cafes & good restaurants, shops, wharf, bus depot & all the water based excursions & fishing boats are just across the road. Waitangi - our birth place, is a short walk along the foreshore. The beach is at our gate!Our apartments have recently been refurbished, are of solid construction and strictly non-smoking, they are clean, warm, comfortable & quiet. Book direct for best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ala-Moana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala-Moana Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing