We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful - great for families”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paihia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful - great for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

This was the cheapest of the accommodation we'd booked during our two weeks in the North Island and offered great value for money, particularly as it was the Easter holidays.

The manager Mark was super friendly and the accommodation was basic but clean, with a relaxed family feel. After staying in lots of motels where you had to drive to get anywhere, it was great to be able to take a short stroll into town. Being up on a small hill, it was also incredibly quiet at night-time, so we got the best of both worlds. Saving on accommodation meant we treated ourselves to a blow-out meal at one of Paihia's many fantastic restaurants.

Our young daughter loved the pool and all in all this was a fantastic find for us. If you have particularly high standards, this might not be the place for you, but if you can overlook mismatched cutlery it's well worth a punt.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anniedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Initial greeting was friendly but the facilities were sub-standard. Our unit was old and tired, the laundry was a mess and the barbecue was very basic and grotty. The outside eating area had a iron-frame overhead but its covering was gone and the seating consisted of a grubby white plastic table and chairs. There was a motley collection of cutlery and crockery in the 50's style kitchen. Location was walking distance to the centre of Piahia.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawks2e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2010

We booked this on the faith of the photos and description. We are not fussy travellers but simply look for safe and clean. This place was neither. The bed covers were stained and the sliding main door was broken with a very low end (not installed properly) temporary fix. I did not feel as though our belongings would be safe at all. The on sight manager was very accommodating and did his best however the units are individually owned and you get what you get. Our unit was clearly unacceptable. For the same 200$ per night we found a much better option on the waterfront that suited our clean and safe needs.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whangarei
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Location is great unfortunately the hill makes it hard for the elderly and people with disabilitys to walk to town

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah
Level Contributor
154 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We have travelled both Islands and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation that we had chosen. Although Mark welcomed us and was very pleasant, we were shell shocked by this one.The aprtment , #10, had a very unpleasant smell and the facilities were spartan. It certainly did not achieve the self rated 31/2 stars. The wardrobe/storage were wire racks. The bedside tables were some kind of brick turned on end. The hotplate was rusty, drawers dirty. The sofa and dining chairs were badly stained, we put a cover from the spare bed over the sofa. The shower recess had a rusty rail and paint peeling off the ceiling. The smoke alarm was sitting on the kitchen window sill. Broken window lock, broken door lock, replaced by a loose patio bolt on the outside.. The flyscreens were filthy and the curtains dirty as were the windows. We tried to spend as little time as possible there and were pleased to be gone after 2 nights. The sheets and towels looked clean, luckily. No milk, tea, coffee or hairdryer. They don't service the apartment, every other place that we stayed,21 of them in all, did We ate out, there are loads of good places to eat. The apartments aren't too far from town but are at the top of a very steep slope. There are many other accomodationoptions, at a similar price. We suggest you use them!. We do have photosas proof, but not the facility to put them on this site.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank zigzagMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. Found suite for 4 people a bit small, otherwise excellent value for money

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaqval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

Fabulous bush setting and handy for the town. The decor was pleasant and all the basics provided...not much in the way of kitchen equipment if you want to self cater...coffee plunger would be nice...and a couple of pans...

Very good value for money tho and the host was very welcoming and helpful

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pago35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.4 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
Tanoa Paihia Hotel
#36 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#39 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#27 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments

Property: Bay of Islands Sublime Apartments
Address: 58 School Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by bush, yet only 700m from Paihia’s beautiful beach, we offer quality accommodation at an affordable price and provide you with everything you need for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bay Of Islands Sublime Apartments Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing