We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”

Waterfront Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Waterfront Restaurant & Bar is centrally located in the heart of Paihia. with breathtaking views over Russell & outer islands. Watch the sun set over the bay with local & award winning New Zealand wines fresh seafood, prime meats, vegetarian & gluten free options
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have been going to the BOI for the past 34 years - once sometimes twice a year. Have always walked past this restaurant for some reason. However, there was a special on the Grabone deals and, well, you know how that works. Went early, it was dreadful weather at that time. Were first in the door - greeted warmly but not OTT. Water was delivered and we made our order. By the time we had finished the meal the place was almost completely full. The Mains were probably the best meats we have eaten anywhere. Lamb cook perfectly (for me), and the steak my husband had was superb. It was absolutely a visual feast as well. Cannot rank this restaurant highly enough - will be back to eat each time we go north. Cheers

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    184
    71
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a fantastic little restaurant! Wonderful service - making room for us - even though we hadn't made a booking, we were extremely fortunate - pre-booking highly recommended as there is only limited seating. Food was delicious :-) and reasonably priced. Would definitely return again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GailChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcoola, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very nice place to eat - the guests beside us were noisy which dulled our dining experience but I cant complain about food or service - both were delightful.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great service ,great food, we booked in for an evening meal and had a lovely evening with friends. It pays to book if you are going in the evening. There were people waiting for a spare table ,that's how popular it is.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent night”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Atmosphere was great, sat outside on a beautiful night they even thoughtfully provided blankets for those who got a bit chilly. Service was quick and friendly and food was nice and plenty of it. Even got birthday candles in my sticky date pudding.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Waterfront Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing