We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, bot not great...”
Review of Only Seafood

Only Seafood
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good, bot not great...”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

inasmuch as... we know we're only expecting seafood, but the lack of tempting vegetables and/or sides was disappointing.

My mate loved his mussels and I loved my oyster entree, and both main dishes were nice, but not spectacular, however.... a humungous salad on a cold winter's night isn't the ideal accompaniment, and as I can't eat lettuce anyway I asked to swap it for one of the three ~ yesssss, just three, side dishes. Neither rice, nor potatoes, come with either mains dish.

Good wine list though (but typically overpriced) and the service was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    211
    87
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Seafood platter”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the seafood platter as a main. looks big, but realised there wasnt that much to it. Place looks very nice , tuna with sesamee seeds tasted perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hd84hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“seafood and eat it”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

a beautiful seafood basket of scallops mussels and a snapper with chips and salad and a bread rool with garlic butter enough to make your mouth water plus a picture perfect day, and if you have you have time visit the many gift and souvenir shops ! take a saltair helicopter ride or the fast boat through the whole in the rock or maybe take a good book and lay on the beach a must do can do now trip

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank archoo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobin, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As this place is called "Just Seafood" we dined on a Wednesday night with great expectations. The food was generally agreed was average to good but dissappointingly there was not enough oysters for our party of four. The price for a bottle of red wine which was of average quality was very expensive plus also my wife had a glass of white wine which cost about $10.00 per glass was also very over priced. We all came away from this restaurant much the poorer and dissappointed never to return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Food was excellent, and the service excellent also. Not very often in NZ do we leave a tip, but we did this night. Lovely waitress, who was exceptionally attentive. May have been that they weren't very busy the night we were there, and she had the time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Only Seafood also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Only Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing