We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant but disappointed with food”
Review of Only Seafood

Only Seafood
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Mangawhai, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but disappointed with food”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A winter weekend break at Paihia with plenty of restaurants to choose from, we felt like some nice seafood, so chose 'Only Seafood Restaurant'. Lovely decor but service was slow with only one lady serving tables. Menu was disappointing as most meals coming out of the kitchen to other diners looked like they came with salad. Our fish meals, came with salad and the fish was barely warm. Licensed restaurant and we thought it quite expensive for what we received.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony and Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    211
    87
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good food but a total rip-off on price”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Don't go to this restaurant! Whilst the food may be good, the prices most definitely are not. Virtually every dish on their limited menu is the same price and pretty average wines are at least 50% more than nearby restaurants. They charge you extra for everything, including basic vegetables. This restaurant is trying to be classy and a cut above the rest but a far better choice is the Swordfish Club half a mile down the road where the seafood is outstanding at half the price and the wines too are affordable. In fact we got 2 meals there for the same price as one charged at the Seafood Restaurant. We have eaten extensively at other restaurants in the area and elsewhere in NZ and the Seafood Restaurant is grossly over priced by comparison. I wouldn't go back there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Family Occasion”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our family visited Paihia for the annual harbour swim.On the recommendation of friends we ate at this resturant (A lovely old house) The friendly service,atmosphere and food made this a very enjoyable evening.See you again next year

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed terrible experience”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

One word "terrible"
First, we have been leads to indoor table but we decided to be seated outdoor and straight away the waitress gave us the inpatient look. They are extremely rude, unfriendly and arrogant. Treat us with no respect though out the night.
Food is overcooked, over priced, and overrated. We will not go back to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Steelwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good Given Limited Choices”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good location on main street in Paihia, lovely old house, but the mussels in Thai sauce were only average and not cheap and I was annoyed that I had to pay another NZ$2-3 (can't remember which) for some bread to go with the mussels. Although the fresh bread with pumpkin seeds was good. I have found that other restaurants in NZ also charge extra for bread so this was not the other place but still . . .

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Only Seafood also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Only Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing